Product Comparison: Qhemet Biologics Amla and Olive Heavy Cream vs. My Honey Child Type 4 Hair Creme

Ingredients: Castor (Ricinus Communis) Oil & Olive (Olea Europa) Oil Blend, Aqueous (Distilled Water) Botanical Infusion Of Organic Phyllanthus Emblica (Amla) Extract, Organic Bacopa Monniera (Brahmi) Extract And Organic Aloe Ferox (Aloe Africana) Extract, Vegetable Glycerin, MSM (Methylsulfonylmethane), Sorbitan & Cetearyl Monoesters (Vegetable Emulsifier), Citrus Limon & Citrus Aurantium (Essential Oil Scent), Phenoxyethanol & Ethylhexylglycerin (Food Grade Paraben-Free And Formaldehyde-Free Preservative).Ingredients: Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Olea europaea L (Olive) Oil, Raw Honey , Cocos nucifera (Coconut ) Oil ,Sesamum indicum (Sesame) Oil , BaoHen Oil, Helianthus annuus( Sunflower)Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Cuscus grass extract, Eclipta erecta oil, Curcuma longa (turmeric) root extract, Fragrance (Parfum) and Optiphen. 

Ok, so since especially becoming fully natural, I’ve been incorporating butters in any wash day that does not consist of a wash and go. 

Now, with the colder winter months, all butters are not created equally. Some are really lighter than others and just cannot get me through 5 full days of bunning. When I look for butters, it’s not just ingredients and what it’s promising, but I also look at delivery and what I get over 5 days. I’ve used quite a few butters, some I would highly recommend and keep for backup and some i would recommend at your own risk. 

Camille Rose Naturals Almond Jai I would highly recommend. Always keep one in my stash. 

Darcy’s Botanicals Cocoa whatever butter, I would recommend at your own risk. 

Qhemet Biologics Amla and Olive Heavy Cream

As the name implies, it’s a heavy cream. Now, not super heavy, but heavy enough to weigh down fine hair. You don’t need a lot for use to coat your strands. I always apply a little more at the ends. 

Sometimes, the hair looks a bit coated when using, but after a few hours, it’s gone. 

This product leaves me with no shine. Just regular hair. 

It leaves me with no build up. It also works well with my products, including my gel. 

This product is only able to leave me with definition for barely a day. If it’s humid out, forget it. Castor is a humectant so don’t expect much in humid weather. 

In dry weather, it keeps my hair soft. In humid weather, it makes my hair feel as if it’s slightly damp. 

Where’s the pro: it leaves me with amazingly soft hair in cold weather. Trust me, it works. 

Smells like satsuma or mandarin, but not powerful. 

In the end, I love this product. 

My Honey Child Type 4 Hair Cream 

Type 4 reminds me of a cream/grease hybrid. It can be creamy or greasy, depending on how heavy handed you are. I actually need to use even less of this than Qhemet. If you have fine hair, skip it. 

This product looks a bit greasier, but it doesn’t leave build up if you aren’t heavy handed. 

This product does leave me with shine. 

This product does lose definition over time, however, I have had twist that still had definition over 5 days. 

In dry weather, it leaves my hair soft. In humid weather, I will feel it’s effects over the course of days, but not immediately like Qhemet. And by immediately, I mean a few hours. 

The smell is pretty neutral. Like corn oil. It won’t mess with anything scented you may be using. 

In the end, I love this product. 

Price wise, barely a $3 difference. 

Availability, Qhemet can be found in Locations listed on the website, or their site with fairly priced and fast shipping. My Honey Child is online only. I’ve never dealt with the vendor directly, however, the shipping is not reasonable, I am unsure of fulfillment times and I’ve only ordered from Curlmart or Hattache (with the latter being my overall favorite). 

One jar of each would last me roughly 12 wash days. That’s an entire season. I really only do 8-16 rookie Twist and bun weekly. 

For me, they aren’t compatible by ingredients, but by function. And if neither are feasible for you, Camille Rose Naturals Almond Jai is always in target waiting for you to scoop it up. But I must warn you, quantities in store are limited as well. 

What’s your favorite cold weather product?

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

One thought on “Product Comparison: Qhemet Biologics Amla and Olive Heavy Cream vs. My Honey Child Type 4 Hair Creme

Leave a Reply

