Product Review: Qhemet Biologics Cocoa Tree Detanging Ghee

Promises: Restores manageability, softness and elasticity to normal to very dry hair. Smooths cuticles, improves combing ability and reduces breakage. 

Ingredients: Aqueous Botanical Infusion Of Urtica Dioica (Nettle Leaf) Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract, Equisetum Arvense (Horsetail) Extract, Pure Cocoa (Theobroma Cacao) Butter, PPG-3 Benzyl Ether Myristate, Cetyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Behenamidopropyl Dimethylamine, MSM (Methylsufonylmethane), Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol and Ethylhexylglycerin (A Paraben- and Formaldehyde-free Preservative).

Pros: I usually do not purchase anything with cocoa butter or chocolate for the hair because they are typically smoothing and I have low porosity hair. I decided to give this a go because I have never had a bad experience with this brand. It’s a butter that’s marketed as “Condition” and a moisturizer or deep conditioner. I use it as a moisturizer because though it’s a butter, it’s not “buttery” enough for me to use as a butter if you get me. 

On my most recent twist out (I post pictures in another post), I initially used other products, but the humidity killed my hair because those products had humectants. When I gave the twist out a second go, I used this. I used it after applying a non-humectant leave in and used this as my moisturizer. CTDG has no humectants (at least that I can see) so when I unraveled my twist, the humidity did not win. 

I also had soft hair for 4 days. 

Also, even when I apply leave in, I usually cannot comb or detangle. With this, I was able to easily sift though my hair and not ouch the entire time. It truly is a great all around product. 

Con: price. $22 for 8oz. This jar will take me months to use (and y’all have seen my high density 4a hair), so while the cash drop is steep, this jar could easily last me 3 months and be well worth it. 

In the end, I would recommend this product.

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Qhemet Biologics Cocoa Tree Detanging Ghee

  1. Thanks for the review. Now that Qhemet Biologics is more accessible via Sephora, I am tempted to try it. Though the price tag does scare me, I feel good giving it to a black owned company. I think I will try it during the late fall/winter when my hair needs the extra protection.

  2. I was looking at this but I wasn’t sure how to use it in my routine. The ingredients scared me off, but if it worked for you, it may work for my hair. Adding this to my BF list. If you had to chose one QB product to try first, would it be this one?

Leave a Reply

