Wash Days Upon Wash Days

Hey,

So I’ve been a bit MIA with my wash days. Mostly because with summer and harsh heat waves, it has been really hard on my hair. Sun damage is no fun. Hot, dry outside and cold, dry inside is no fun. Because of this, I’ve had as many as 3 wash days a week with no permanent solution. 

I honestly do not enjoy the constant washing. I wash more, lose less hair, have less detangled hair, but it is very time consuming. I value my time on the weekdays. Unfortunately, it’s working for me. 

Here are my issues:
So, I switched to DevaCurl Low-Poo, with success, but I still didn’t enjoy the constant washing. Even a low poo is a poo. 

Using more conditioner that’s not cheap in the first place. 

Leave ins and moisturizers work, but still need a sealer. 

In terms of curling custards, I tried Kinky Curly Curling Custard with less than desirable results. Design Essentials Honey Custard is not for hot, dry weather. Camille Rose Naturals Curl Maker left me with subpar results. Used Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Curling Soufflé with success, but I’m still playing around with it. At this point, I am sold on the Shea Moisture because I can use with or without a leave in and still seal with oil and it really works out well for me. 

Finally, my solutions cam with clay washing. I don’t know what struck me to try, but poo’s do not work for me. I also remember when I was pregnant, I did baking soda and water washing and I actually did like it. So I did a little research and took a risk. I used Bentonite clay which I really like, but I have to be careful and use 1x a month because it more clarifying than I thought. I need protein after it and moisturizing conditioner will work in less the time when using clay. 

I used Rhassoul next wash day and really wound up like it as well. I found it to be very moisturizing. I also mixed it with some Brahmi and Maca and liked it even more. I continued to use the Rhassoul for regular wash days, which works because I am trying to move back to 1x a week wash days. This has taken me roughly 6 weeks to figure out, but everything comes in due time. 

I researched clay recipes online, but everything is standard. Even down to which clays to use. So far, I’ve tried Bentonite, Rhassoul and am waiting for Kaolin. 

How do I use the clay? So most of the recipes are standard. I hate that because when people don’t experiment, you don’t know anything but regular. I mix roughly 2 tbsp of clay with enough water to make it smooth yet still loose. That allows you to stretch your clay. When I first used the bentonite, I mixed with honey and it came out lumpy, but there was no difference in performance. Now, I just keep at a loose but smooth consistency. 

I’ve mixed the Rhassoul with Brahmi and Maka for its scalp stimulating claims. I section my hair now in 10 sections, apply with limited manipulation, then let sit for about 10 minutes. Then rinse and add conditoner. 

If you decide to use clay, I just recommend making it suitable to your porosity. Since I’m LoPo, water works great in my clay. For anyone HiPo, you may want to mix with AVJ or ACV simply to lower the pH so your cuticles do not become too raised. 

Here are my clay washing results. I also experience fuller hair because it really does unclump the hair. It’s not adding volume, more like showing you your hair’s true density. 

This picture is actually just after a wash with no gel and just wash day product. 

After playing and playing, I’ve come to the conclusion that I may not yet benefit from 1x a week washing. I didn’t want to clay wash and then conditioner wash so I came up with something better: I decided to clay wash 1x every 3-4 weeks and conditioner cleanse in between however often as possible with DevaCurl No Poo (original and decadence). 

I’m usually not a fan of conditioner washing, but using conditioners specifically for this purpose has shown me there is a difference. 

For now, I’m really liking this regimen and I am still trying out my products for review as a natural. 

Stay with me here; don’t leave me yet. 

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

One thought on “Wash Days Upon Wash Days

  1. You can see every.single.coil with that clay! Wow! I went back and checked the product that I used for my last clay wash that I hated and you are so right. Base your clay mixture off your porosity. It had aloe vera juice and my hair HATES aloe vera juice. I guess I will have to make my own clay. Hoping to pick some up during somebody’s black Friday sale.

Leave a Reply

