Eureka Product Reviews: Shea Moisture High and Low Porosity Conditioners 


Description:

Dry, rough and unmanageable curls can turn the best of days into a bad hair day. Protect your hair with SheaMoisture’s High Porosity Moisture-Seal Masque formulated using ultra-hydrating Mongongo and Hemp Seed Oils to transform porous, over processed , damaged hair into soft, smooth, frizz-free curls and coils.

SheaMoisture’s High Porosity Moisture-Seal Masque is fortified with natural ingredients like Baobab Proteins, Apple Cider Vinegar and certified organic Shea Butter which smooths down the cuticles of the hair shaft leaving you hair moisturized, smooth and manageable.

Ingredients:

Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter**, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Capric/Caprylic Triglycerides, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Glyceryl Caprylate, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Adansonia Digitata Seed Extract, Fragrance (Essential Oil Blend), Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Chondrus Crispus Extract, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Ricinodendron Rautanenii (Mongongo) Seed Oil, Vinegar, Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Seed Oil, Panthenol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Glyceryl Undecylenate, Sodium Benzoate.


Description:

This lightweight conditioner softens and improves manageability. Ideal for low porosity, protein-sensitive curls and coils that resist essential moisture. Infused with fast-absorbing Baobab and Tea Tree Oils, Spearmint and Clary Sage to promote scalp health, and enriched with certified organic Shea Butter to deliver balanced, nourishing hydration where hair needs it most. Provides lasting moisture without surface build-up.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (Vegetable), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter**, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Glyceryl Caprylate, Panthenol, Fragrance (Essential Oil Blend), Capric/Caprylic Triglycerides, Menthol, Adansonia Digitata Seed Oil, Mentha Aquatica, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Salvia Sclarea (Clary) Extract, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Extract, Cetrimonium Chloride, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tocopherol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Sodium Benzoate, Glyceryl Undecylenate.

High Porosity Masque

What I like about the conditioner is that it is more on the watery side of creamy (if you turn the jar, you will see the conditioner move with it), it is easy to apply and is quick absorbing. Left me with good, balanced hair. Now, I know I’m low porosity, but I figured based on the ingredients, it wouldn’t hurt. I’ve left it in for up to a few hours with no issues. I also experienced faster drying. The only thing I don’t like is the smell; could be better, but not too bad. 

Low Porosity Conditioner

This one is not a masque. I’ve used it when cowashing. Now I feel it is not a good comparison, but there is no other way for me to use this conditioner. It is not a deep conditioner, so I wouldn’t think to use it as so. It is decent with detangling and I love the spearmint (my eyes though). Afterwards, my hair feels ok; could be better moisturized. After a couple of days, my hair needs to be fully re-wet and conditioned. 

Now, what I don’t understand is why this line does not come with a masque. I mean, I get it: high porosity hair needs the moisture where low porosity hair doesn’t because it’s not really losing moisture. However, that doesn’t mean that low porosity hair doesn’t need moisture and can’t benefit from a masque. It also creates a misconception that HP hair needs more maintenance and product to be maintained and LP hair is just easy and needs little maintenance and product. Ask any LP head if that is true and they will tell you that LP hair is not as easy to handle. I’m one of them. 

I’ve also realized that lack of protein make the HP much better than LP. Outside of one being in masque form. I would definitely recommend the HP masque for anyone. It left me with balanced hair that dried in one day versus two. I’m still on the fence with LP, as I think it still needs a masque and creates a bad misconception. 

Any thoughts or experiences?

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

2 thoughts on “Eureka Product Reviews: Shea Moisture High and Low Porosity Conditioners 

  1. You make good points. I always use a masque every wash day because I NEED to get that moisture in there. Sure when it’s there I’m fine, but getting it there is the hardest. I have no use for conditioners because they don’t do enough for my LP hair. The only conditioner I’ve ever loved claimed to be for porous hair. It’s not enough to make stuff for us without protein. Personally, I benefit from some proteins. The only one I really have a bad reaction to is keratin. I use it with caution.

    • Exactly!!!! Is low po heads suffer too much. Keratin should be used with caution, but if you use it in products that are target for natural hair, you should be fine. I prefer keratin amino acids.

Leave a Reply

