First Impressions: Shea Moisture Masques (Jamaican Black Castor Oil and Sacha Inchi Omega 3-6-9)


Now that I’m mostly natural, I’ve noticed Shea Moisture working dramatically better for me. I also think the formulas got better, but it could just be a mixture of both. I have three posted will one review two. 

So, I’ve gotten great feedback about both masques and decided to try them. I also have Superfruit but have not tried it yet and probably will not try it for a bit. 

Let’s start:

Jamaican Black Castor Oil Masque

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cetyl Alcohol, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Glycerin, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter*, Stearyl Alcohol, Fragrance (Essential Oil Blend), Behentrimonium Chloride, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein PG-Propyl Silanetriol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil*, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Vinegar, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Acetyl Tetrapeptide-3, Niacin, Dextran, Trifolium Pratense (Clover) Flower Extract, Caramel, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract 

First Impression: I liked it. I found it to be moisturizing. I initially steered from it because it’s Shea Moisture and the vegetable protein but it was on sale so what the hell! It went on well and I was able to detangle. It rinses well. My hair stayed pretty soft for the week. It has peppermint oil, but where, I don’t know because there is no smell, tingle, nothing. The smell is ok as well. I found myself using roughly 3 ounces, so I can probably get 3-4 uses from this jar. 

It will probably use a few more times to determine if it will be a repurchase. 

Sacha Inchi Oil Omega 3-6-9

Ingredients: 

Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Glycerin (Vegetable), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Stearyl Alcohol, Capric/Caprylic Triglycerides, Cetyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Behentrimonium Chloride, Glyceryl Caprylate, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Plukenetia Volubilis (Sacha lnchi) Seed Oil, Brassica Oleracea ltalica (Broccoli) Seed Oil, Virola Sebifera (Ucuuba) Nut Oil, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Selaginella Lepidophylla (Jericho) Extract, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Leaf Extract, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Chenopodium Quinoa Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Glyceryl Undecylenate, Fragrance (Essential Oil Blend)

First Impression: I loved it. I purchased based on the peer pressure of my lovely e-sis Age. It’s got a grandma smell to it, so you either deal or don’t deal with the frangrance. I didn’t find it to linger. I used it after clarifying since it has a bit of rice protein in it and I found it working really well. This is the only masque I’ve ever used in which my hair didn’t take longer than usual to dry. When I use SM, my hair takes 2 days to dry, which is a bummer since my wash days are Sunday. After using this masque, my hair was slightly damp the next morning, considering I barely left my hair towel on for 10 minutes the night before and my hair was still wet when styling. 

This one is definitely a keeper. Slip is good, texture is good, goes on well, I was able to finger detangle and it rinsed well. This is definitely to be a repurchase, but I could only use possibly 1x a month or when clarifying as it could be a medium protein for me and protein is an indulgence these days for me. 

Well, can wait for my own review! 

Have you tried these products? What are your thoughts? 

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: Shea Moisture Masques (Jamaican Black Castor Oil and Sacha Inchi Omega 3-6-9)

  1. I never thought that I would ever like anything from SM but they have really stepped their game up. I’m thankful too because my natural hair is dense and their products are fairly priced, they have frequent BOGOs and I can get it on the ground. #winning

    LOL at a grandma smell!! I REALLY wish that they would reconsider that smell! I am so glad it worked for you sis!

  2. I haven’t even heard anything about the Sacha products by SM, but ppl rave about that JBCO line. I’ve never been a user of Shea Moisture but recommend them to ppl constantly because of their easy availability and when I have used them (when home visiting my mom) I love the moisture line, which is one of the first they had.

    • Sorry for the late response. The Sacha Inchi is really good. I love the JBCO masque as well. The first time I liked it but now I love it! I only use the masques though. If you have an Ulta near you, definitely grab both during a BOGO 50% sale

Leave a Reply

