First Impressions: Designs Essentials Natural Honey and KeraVada Kera10 Leave-in Conditioner. 

  
I recently tried both of these on my wash day (to be posted later). I want to give a small review on both of my initial assessment. 

Design Essentials Natural Honey Curlforming Custard

So, I really liked the As I Am Twist Defining Cream but my issue with it is the glycerin. It’s high on the list so my hair dried out. I liked the definition but there was no moisture for me. The Design Essentials has glycerin very low on the list and defines much better. My hair also still really feels moisturized. What I also really like is that you don’t really need much and it goes on well. The ingredients are really well put together with water at the main and a lot of extracts, two polyquats and a preservative. I want to say there is a small amount of protein as well. It smells good too. 

My only cons is the texture takes some getting used to and the PRICE. I feel like if my hair can last even 4-5 days without being retwisted, it’s worth the money. It left me with great definition and moisture in just a few hours and even the next day when it was barely 23 degrees when I left and 30 degrees when I came home from work. Beautiful. Hair. I don’t like the price but sometimes a good thing is worth it. We shall see on my next review. 

KeraVada Kera10 Leave-in Conditioner

Now, the directions confused me a bit, but when it read I can leave it in as a leave in, I was sold! I love leave ins. I also liked the texture of this conditoner because it’s creamy but not thick. I didn’t need a lot for my twist and I feel I didn’t have to use a lot at all. After applying to detangled hair, sometimes it hard because I still get tangled ends but not here. I have very few leave in conditioners I actually like but this is one. It has a lot of oils and Ayurvedic extracts that are really good for the hair and scalp, babassu butter, with glycerin low on the list and small amounts of protein and emulsifiers (based on the list). I really like so far. 

My biggest con is the smell. If you look at the bottle, it says light scent and “Cozy Vanilla Cream”. This stuff smells like that one aunt/cousin/sister/friend we all have that loves to bathe in natural oils and smells everything except frank and myrrh. It’s really strong. This product has lemongrass, patchouli and bergamot, all oils that are strong and hard to fragrance. IMO, there is no amount of frangrance that can mask those smells. The smells are really strong and everywhere I went I could smell it in my hair. Now, I was not crazy about the smell (it’s really strong) but as my hair dried (air dried), once fully dry the scent is really faint. I’m fine with that. 

I contribute my moistured hair to this leave in so while I don’t like the smell, I really like the leave in and will continue to use it. 

I doubt my review will change much but for now, both products are definitely staples. 

Have you tried these products? What do you think? Have you heard of these products? What do you want to know? 

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

Leave a Reply

