Product Review: As I Am Twist Defining Cream

Claim:

Shiny smoothness, (and lots of it), is what you’ll get when you twist with this one-of-a-kind rich creamy styler. Made especially for highly textured hair with nurturing natural oils, plus an organic extract that provides the ultimate in moisturization. There’s even a wondrous organic compound blended in that works to block DHT and stimulate healthy hair growth.

Benefits

Produces shiny, well-defined twists and twist outs

Produces strong, lasting definition

Minimizes frizz and maximizes smoothness

Hydrates dry hair

Helps promote healthy hair growth from the follicular level

Helps prevent shedding and thinning

Key Ingredients: Sunflower Oil, Castor Oil, Amla, Sugar Beet Root and Phytosterols
Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut)¹ and Phyllanthus Emblica (Amla)¹ and Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine)¹ and Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root¹, Glycerin¹, Acetamide MEA, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil1, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil¹, Triethanolamine, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil¹, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)¹, Carbomer, Phytosterols², Disodium Ethylene Dicocamide PEG-15 Disulfate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Behenyl Alcohol¹, Glyceryl Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Trideceth-12, TBHQ, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene.

Now, the review: 

   

   
I used this stuff with no ambition of it working as the Eden Bodyworks coconut and shea curling cream did nothing but make my hair soggy, then defined. 

I love this stuff. It’s the best $12 I’ve ever spent. 

Initially, I thought it would take my hair 2 days to set, but I’ve used it the night before on damp hair and the next morning, I wake up like this. I get nice, moisturized, defined twist and my hair is actually soft.

The cream is this and custard like (think egg custard or a thin flan) but not jelly like. It spreads well, smells nice and ok during application.  You also don’t need a lot, but it doesn’t stop me from using a lot. 

My only con is that when you retwist, you really can’t use anything else. The AIA, for some reason that I’m sure I’ve put my finger on, will make you feel like your hair is sticky if you use anything to moisturize the hair or to retwist the hair. You won’t see it on your hair but your hands will feel sticky. I’m going to try using a liquid leave-in then use the AIA to reapply, but otherwise, I haven’t seen any residue and I don’t feel like it builds up on the hair. This has kept my twist outs defined for at least 1.5 weeks with 1-2 applications. 

Overall, I would recommend this product if you are faithful to your non-heat styles. 

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

4 thoughts on “Product Review: As I Am Twist Defining Cream

  1. I could NOT get this to work for me. It has great definition but it left my hair looking dull and feeling dry. I am glad it worked for you!

    • My only issue with it is the drying factor. I like the definition it gives me but still in the search party for something better.

Leave a Reply

