Wash Day

I was extremely embarrassed my last wash day. I planned on air drying, which I did, and was a complete disaster. 

How much of a disaster, Tasia? I’ll tell you: calculate how long it takes for the earth to make one rotation around the sun and times that by the Higgs Boson and take that product and find its secant. And if it sounds like I just spoke another language, it’s because I probably did. 

I carefully took my time to comb my hair my last wash day and it had the nerve to shrink AND matted up. I managed to put it in a bun and guess what? It stayed in that bun all week; no combing, no touch up, just stayed in the bun. I slept and bathed in it. I was not playing. 

So that brings me to this wash day. I’ve really been adamant about not using heat but after the last wash day, I needed a rest. It’s really hard with a baby; you’ve got to prioritize your hotness. You can get away with bad hair if you do it right, but you can’t get away with looking bad from the floor up. I just might have to go back to roller setting. 

So I started with washing with Nexxus Therappe 2x. You read right. Twice. Something I hardly ever do. Even after the second wash, my hair was clean yet not dry. Washing twice is beneficially to good heat use results. I’m learning that the hard way. 

Next, I dug in my closet and got out my Darcy’s Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Conditioner. I still love this stuff, but I’m not sure my natural hair likes it. The texlaxed and straight hair loves it 😐 I left it on for 30 minutes, 15 with heat, 15 without. 

Before and after washing as well as rinsing conditioner, my hair was full of tangles. Tangles. Tangles. A lot of tangles. I cried a bit inside and out each time I came across one. 

I towel dried for about 15 minutes.  

     

I definitely see textured now. All those tangled almost made me chop it off but I came to far to quit now. 

I added some Chi Silk Infusion then blew my hair out. Blowing my hair out took a good hour.  

   I did get to see some length after blowing it out though. I will also say shrinkage is very much real. 

Then I flat ironed. I cried doing it, but I need a break. 

   
 I have been worried about my ends for a while and am glad I did this now so I could cut them before they got any worse. They were a bit lopsided so I evened them out. My right side grows faster than the left, but it’s been a long time since I’ve seen this.  

 The end. I should have combed it better but it was 10:30pm and I was tired. 

The next day I went to work and someone asked me how I deal with a pony tail that big. After that, my hair has been in a bun. I felt awkward. That wasn’t her intention, but I just felt awkward. I also don’t want people knowing how much hair I have. At least in real life. 

Last, I’m claiming waist length. 

🙂

How was your wash day” 

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

10 thoughts on “Wash Day

    • Well I hate to say yes because I just haven’t found a need to relax and probably won’t any time soon. So for now, yes.

  1. SHE SITIONING’! #YASSSSSSSS lol
    SHE WAIST LENGTH! #YASSSSSS lol

    Girl thats all I said this entire post lol. No sense whatsoever.

  2. oh wow! That wash day sounds hideous :|! but at least it led you to your WL pictures! Oh just read you are transitioning too! how exciting! It always starts with the lack of needing to touch up! 🙂

  3. Waist Length for the win! Your hair looks amazing, great job! So excited to follow your transitioning journey!

Leave a Reply

