Detangling the Mane

I got a question today via email that asks: How do you detangle your hair? Before you after you DC? 

Here is my answer that will probably make most of you cringe.

I comb after I wet my hair and before I shampoo. There is nothing worse than tangled hair then shampooing it. Regardless to whether I wash straight down and in sections, it gets tangled. Even when I comb before I wash, it still tangles. This helps tremendously. 

Then I comb again after I put DC in, but what I do is I let it sit for however long, wet it a bit til it gets some slip, then comb and then continue combing as I rinse. I make sure the comb continues combing without stops along the way. 

Once I’m styling or detangling after I remove my towel from my head, I barely have any shed hairs and my hair is very manageable. 

This is one of those things where I would advise if you try, proceed with caution. I don’t comb during the week, so it really helps. 

How do you detangle? 

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasks B. 

11 thoughts on “Detangling the Mane

  1. I’m still trying to work this out, but my hair prefers wet/damp detangling too. I might detangle lightly with my prepoo, but I save proper detangling for after I condition.

    • Yes. It makes styling so much easier for me. I lose much less hair overall considering I’m not combing during the week anymore.

  2. This is a prime example of what works for the Goose may not work for the Gander! lol. I usually detangle on dry hair before my pre-poo with the aid of oils and if am
    shower detangling during the DC rinse of its hands only. I think this works for you because your strands are thick and dense so it can withstand the wet-combing!

    • I totally agree with Sammy on this one. I attempted two wash days detangling wet hair and I just couldn’t make it work. But that doesn’t mean that wet detangling “doesn’t work;” It just doesn’t work for me.

      Tasia, your hair is absolutely beautiful so OBVIOUSLY you’re doing something right!

      Thanks for sharing!

      KLP @ SavingOurStrands

  3. Great Post!

    For my relaxed hair, I could totally comb my hair wet with zero issues. My texlaxed hair definitely preferred damp combing. My natural hair can be combed soaking wet with conditioner, but I definitely prefer detangling my hair damp (with product).

Leave a Reply

