Product Review: Nexxus Humectress



 Ingredients:

I can’t find them online anywhere and I am not able to type them, but the key ingredients are Coconut Oil, Vitamin E, Honey and Nettle. 

Promises:

Humctress® Ultimate Moisturizing Conditioner, now enhanced for an elevated level of miniaturization, is specially formulated with Vitamin E, Coconut Oil and Honey Extract to provide nourishing moisture leaving hair luxuriously soft, manageable and full of lustre

My Assessment;

It’s not as great as the old formula with nexxus spheres and keratin amino acids, but it’s still pretty good. 

The consistency is smooth. Not creamy and not liquidy. It also applies well. Very well. And you don’t need a lot, but that doesn’t stop me from using a lot. 

The directions state to leave in for 3 minutes then rinse. So, yall know I have an impatient 8 month old around. 3 minutes is great for me. It still leaves my hair nice and soft. However, on the occasions where I can sit under the dryer, it leaves my hair too soft. When I just fart around, because, you know, this child, and keep it in without heat, it feels the same initially as if I leave it in for 3 minutes, but then when I blow dry, it’s softer. Leaving it longer is ideal, but regardless to how I use it, it still leaves my hair soft and manageable. 

Now, I’ve only used it for one season, and for winter, my hair didn’t set despite this horribly cold and dry winter. However, with this spring coming, this stuff doesn’t hold up well to frizz. I attribute that to the Therappe shampoo though because it has glycerin, which, makes sense if you want to keep moisture in, you need something to draw it in. Hmmmm… Anywho, it doesn’t hold up well to frizz. You need a really good oil for that. And by oil, I mean butter. 

I’ve used it after Keraphix, and it compliments it’s really well. Moreso than Keracare Humecto. However, if I use Humectress under heat after Keraphix, it gets too soft. To thats the ideal situation to not use heat with it for me. 

My overall review is: yes I would recommend. I bought mine from Ulta and with the liter pump container, for $27 (I think) with a $3.50 coupon and I’m still on the same bottle that I bought in October. Right now, that’s less than $5 a month. Mind you, I still have half a bottle. I use roughly 20 pumps a wash. That’s not a lot btw. Well, at least not for me. I can easily use 6 oz of Silk Dreams a wash alone.

Do I recommend this over Keracare Humecto?  No. But in terms of price, quality and quantity, and manageability, I recommend this first. Keracare has to be left on for 15-20 minutes, this does not though you can. So it’s up to you, but it’s really worth a try is you want to save a little money and not sacrifice quality at the same time. 

This is my brain on Humectress. Any questions? 

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B. 

Leave a Reply

