Wash Day

So, I decided to treat myself to a good hair spoiling. I went to the salon, the lady that I went to after I gave birth, because I really like the way she did my hair. It lasted 3 weeks.

First, she washed my hair with my Nexxus Therappe. She washed 3 times and that’s normally a no for me, but she explained to me that hair needs to be really clean for flat ironing. Nexxus isn’t super strong either.

Next, she deep conditioned with Keracare Humecto. I really love this stuff. About to buy my next bottle real soon.

I have no idea what leave-in she uses, as I think it’s lotta body, but I refuse to ask. It smells like lotta body though. After that, she blow dries down until straight with a comb attachment. Funny that my hair comes out nice and straight with her blower. She doesn’t over blow, blows just enough.

Then, she added my IC Fantasia to each sectioned piece as she flat ironed. One pass and if she had to go over, she waited. Because the hair is so straight after blow drying, she doesn’t spend much time ironing.

The final results:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/56d/46102289/files/2014/12/img_7292.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/56d/46102289/files/2014/12/img_7296.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/56d/46102289/files/2014/12/img_7299.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/56d/46102289/files/2014/12/img_7301.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/56d/46102289/files/2014/12/img_7303.jpg

Pardon the ruggish/raggedy look but I live in NYC and it was street cleaning day. Getting up to wait for the truck to pass between 8am and 8:30am is no joke. My appointment was 10am so there was no time to rest in between.

Anyway, my winning shampoo and conditioner combo was a hit. I definitely like using Moisture when flat ironing versus protein use. The hair comes out much sleeker and when it becomes time for the next wash, the protein will be readily accepted.

When I was leaving, she wanted to make my next appointment. I’m worried because her styles last me 3-4 weeks easy. It would be so easy for me to see her once a month and do nothing with my hair in between. I’ve been learning lately that my hair does very well when I leave it alone and just keep it washed, conditioned and off my clothes. I want to do a twist out soooooooooo badly, but that usually results in me having bad ends. I’m at such an impasse.

The good thing is, I watched her this time, so I’m going to try to mimic her results. I’m 14 weeks post and if I don’t wash, I will be 18 weeks next wash day. My NYR was to relax after 14 weeks but not push a relax goal. We will see.

How was your wash day?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

18 thoughts on “Wash Day

  1. Girl when I first saw the picture I thought you straightened your hair yourself. The stylist did an excellent job and you’ve done a great job of taking care of your hair and it shows. Outside of my mom who’s a stylist, I don’t know anyone else that’s that skilled and would respect my hair. I bought the Keracare Humecto and can’t wait to try it.

    • Im going to try the way she did it next time. If i master it, i will definitely share technique and tips. I didnt realize how much she respects my wishes until this wash day. She is really good. She clipped some of my ends, but she seems like she wouldnt take much off anyway.

      I hope you like the keracare. I cant wait to review it.

  2. Tasia, your hair looks so good. Your stylist did a great job. It’s good to know that there are still some stylists out there that care about what they do and really take care of their clients hair.

  3. She did a great job, your hair looks amazing. I’m not sure if this would work for you, but it might be worth looking into maybe just getting your hair done every few weeks. Before I ever relaxed, I got my hair done every weekend (just wash and flat iron) and left it alone and it was the healthiest it ever was. That’s also before I knew anything about hair, too. Just a thought!

    • Thats exactly what im thinking of doing. If i dont touch my hair, it pretty much thrives. Thank you for the food for thought.

  4. Your hair looks lovely! What I would give for a good stylist right now. Or a sister. Sometimes I really wish my sister were closer so she could do my hair. Good stylists are hard to find.

    Looking forward to the Humecto review. I’ve been meaning to try it.

Leave a Reply

