Product Review: Joico Recovery Balm

IMG_6825.JPG

IMG_6826.JPG

Description
An intensely hydrating treatment for coarse, dry hair.

Intense hydrating formula includes murumuru, olive and shea butters to replenish lost moisture, increase strength and reduce breakage by up to 80%.

This intense 5-minute treatment, used every other shampoo, protects and dramatically rehydrates your dry, coarse or thick hair, reduces frizz, and adds fluidity, shine and movement.

Ingredients
Water/Aqua/Eau, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Behenyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Oleate, Fragrance/Parfum, Pentapeptide-29 Cysteinamide, Pentapeptide-30 Cysteinamide, Tetrapeptide-28 Argininamide, Tetrapeptide-29 Argininamide, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Keratin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Hydrogenated Olive Oil, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Hydrolyzed Algin, Sea Water/Maris Aqua/Eau De Mer, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Isopropyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Aminopropyl Dimethicone, Glutamic Acid, Stearyl Dihydroxypropyldimonium Oligosaccharides, Octyldodecanol, Steartrimonium Chloride, Arginine, Propylene Glycol, PEG-6 Methyl Ether Dimethicone, PEG-90M, Glycerin, Limonene, Benzyl Benzoate, Orange 4 (CI 15510), Yellow 5 (CI 19140).

My Assessment
So, I’ve use this with heat and without heat. For 5 minutes and for 15 minutes. Honestly, I saw or felt no difference in quality.

That being said, I do like it. Considering I cut my ends just before its use, my ends have been pretty good, not dry and dusting has become almost non-existent. It has good slip, is easy to apply and though the fragrance is powerful, it doesn’t linger.

My only con is I notice it does leave my hair feeling….. Sticky-coated. Like, it feels stiff and maybe waxy is the term I’m looking for. Just like something is sitting on top of my hair. I know it’s not CHI because I’ve used it for a while now with no complaints. It’s nothing great but I knew I wasn’t bugging when i used Nexxus the past wash day with no waxy feeling. However, it’s not enough to keep me from not using it and not recommending it. And it doesn’t leave my hair with build up so….. Oh well. It might be because of my porosity.

All in all, I would recommend. I also didn’t have any frizz after using it.

Any Questions?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

4 thoughts on “Product Review: Joico Recovery Balm

  1. Good review. Could it be because of the protein in it that your hair felt stiff? I actually prefer keratin protein as opposed to wheat ect. I’m just saying that since when I’ve used it, it left my hair feeling similar but I still think it’s a good product and I like the Moisture Revovery line.

    • It could be the protein. It does have keratin, but not alot. I noticed the wheat, which i hate, but i just really wanted to try it. It is a good product, so regardless of feeling, ill stick with it.

  2. I used to use this one a lot. I’m not quite sure why I stopped. But I remember it being very moisturizing and leaving my hair very fluffy. I’ve noticed that some of my deep conditioners don’t play well together. Meaning—alone or with another combination of leave-ins, their amazing. But when paired together—my hair feels weird.

    Thanks for the thorough and honest review chica! How’s your little one?

    KLP @ SavingOurStrands

Leave a Reply

