Journey To The Center Of YOUR Back

So I was FaceTime-ing my sister on Tuesday. The call came as a surprise because it was 2 in the afternoon and she’s usually at work around that time. Anyway, she starts telling me how she is unhappy with hair and that she’s going to go back natural again, even though she doesn’t want to.

Initially, she transitioned, then when she started wearing her natural hair more, when she would straighten it, thanks to the ATL heat and humidity, it would never last. Long story short, she texturized. I was against it because she used a CaOH texture softener and I told her she would regret it.

So she complains about the textures in the back and front. When it comes to how our hair “works” our hair pretty much mimics how it acts front and back. Front-resistant, back-Internet Thug. In term of texture, not the same.

So here’s where it starts to get funny and sad like an old man at the same time…..
Me: Have you done a protein treatment lately.
Sister: I used aphogee 2-step
Me: *hesitates at first* did you do a deep conditioner after?
Sister: Yeah….
Me: What did you use?
Sister: Suave Naturals conditioner and some JBCO.
Me: Thats not a deep conditioner!
Sister: But my hair was soft and….
Me: THATS NOT A DEEP CONDITIONER
Sister: But I sat under the steamer….
Me: THATS NOT A DEEP CONDITIONER
Sister: Well I’ve been doing that for a year….
Me: And that’s why your complaining about growth and retention to me right now. Your problem is not natural, texturized, textures, none of that. Your problem is your not taking care of hair correctly. Your like a youtube celebrity and I’m telling you this. Are you serious? You know better!
Sister: Yeah, I guess. What Deep Conditioner would you suggest?
Me: *after a few suggestions*
Sister: That sounds like money I don’t have.
Me: It’s not money, it’s an investment. In the end, it will be worth it.
Sister: Yeah, I guess your right.

I can see that I will be sending her some of my Silk Dreams and Annabelles Perfect Blends since I won’t be using it for a while so she can see a difference. Smh. #BigSisterProblems

All this to say, if you are having troubles with growth and retention, you’ve really got to take the time to look at the real problem. I come back to this time after time. Deep conditioning is so crucial to hair care; it can literally make or break your hair, at times doing both. Really evaluate what your doing and if you ever have issues, don’t hesitate to ask the questions out loud to someone you trust or you feel they really know they can answer your question completely.

My sister is a HAM right now, but I know she will listen.

What’s causing your setback?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

6 thoughts on “Journey To The Center Of YOUR Back

  1. I’ve been a little lax on my DCing lately. I love my OGX’s Macadamia Oil conditioner so much that I haven’t felt the need to DC! I need to get back on my routine. Also, I really think my hair would benefit from a no manipulation style, but I’m too afraid of breakage! At some point, I’ll get around to it. Great post.

  2. Such a good big sister! The one thing I always do is deep condition weekly. It’s the only thing I’m sure that’s stopped my dyed ends (pre-hair journey) from snapping right off. I’m not relaxing until December (nearly 6 months stretch) and I’m sure I’ll see how thin my ends are from being destroyed by permanent dye. Not sure if it will be setback level. But I’ve learnt my lesson!

    • Thank you.

      You know the problem. Your hair is probably fine and you seem to be focused on them. Keep up the diligent work 🙂

  3. This entire conversation sounds like me and my sister except my sister does not listen to me. I was laughing reading the repeated “THATS NOT A DEEP CONDITIONER”. I am 10 years younger than my sister so I wonder if that’s why she doesn’t listen to me.

    • You sure she isnt unfocused? I have a sister who is 11 years younger and i listen to her. Then again, i dont speak to her often lol. Anyway, i had to keep stressing that. Both my sisters are a mess.

Leave a Reply

