Product Review: Shea Moisture Manuka Honey and Mafura Oil Hydration Intensive Masque

IMG_5908.PNG

Promises:
SheaMoisture’s Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Infused Shea Body Butter comforts and delivers long-lasting hydration while rejuvenating dry, rough skin. Certified organic Shea Butter, Honey, Mafura and Baobab Oils are blended into a rich formulation of restorative oils to deeply moisturize, while boosting skin’s moisture barrier against environment irritants. African Rock Fig helps smooth and restore softness to skin.
• Made with natural and certified organic ingredients.
• Manuka Honey contains anti-inflammatory properties that soothe skin. Helps create a moisturizing barrier, allowing skin to rehydrate itself.
• Mafura Oil contains high levels of beneficial oleic acid. Helps replenish oils stripped from skin and hair.
• African Rock Fig contains antioxidant Vitamin C, which helps keep skin looking youthful.

I couldn’t find a list of ingredients but the list isn’t too long. Does have avocado oil, rice protein and glycerin.

My Assessment

I’ve only used it once, but sometimes that’s enough.

My Hair at the Moment
MBL
Texlaxed (shrinkage to SL, stretched APL)
Low Porosity
Highly textured

Smell
Smells like fig. The smell isn’t overpowering, but I found it lingered in my bathroom more than my hair.

Texture
White color with a smooth consistency. It’s easy to apply and easy to spread.

My Comments
I initially bought this because the ingredients show that it would be better than the other masques. As I applied it, it felt good on the bone straight ends but like lotion on my Texlaxed hair. After about 3 minutes I rinsed a little to feel my hair. It didn’t feel bad but I figured it needed heat. After sitting under the dryer for about 20 minutes, letting it cool then rinsing, I was able to detangle but it wasn’t smooth sailing. After, my hair didn’t feel as if it was really conditioned.

It didn’t leave my hair intensely hydrated, actually the reversed. It might be the glycerin as my hair has won the war with glycerin after many fruitless battles. My hair feels like it’s dry and

I was more so disappointed because I actually like the shampoo and I hate Shea Moisture shampoos. The only mask that worked for me was the black soap which I keep for backup.

How was your experience with this product? Will you give it a try?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

4 thoughts on “Product Review: Shea Moisture Manuka Honey and Mafura Oil Hydration Intensive Masque

  1. I just used this conditioner yesterday and I really liked it. My hair was really hydrated and easy to detangle. I must say that I did test out two different conditioners yesterday and this one has the edge so far. I’ll use dc with it under my steamer at the end of the week and see if this was fluke. Lol

    • It probably was good for you. I really expected it to work which is why idk why it didn’t. I want to try it with steam but I’m too scared.

      • It’s funny how the same product can yield different results on different people. Trying it with steam might work better. Good luck.

  2. It was such a wonderful article dear and from my side I want to say that i am using intensive hydrating masque from long and its really effective. organic Shea Butter, Honey, Mafura and Baobab Oils are blended with antioxidant-rich African Rock Fig to restore and lock in moisture.

Leave a Reply

