Flat Ironing: I Ponder…..

As I lay here 8 months pregnant and frustrated with doing my hair, I think of something that will keep water off my head and manipulation as low as possible. My wash days are dreaded because I can’t bend over, I almost cut all my hair off just to avoid having to be bothered and I refuse to have a setback by going to the salon. My main issue is just rinsing the Conditoner, as I’ve already left the shower and probably gotten dressed by that point.

What’s a girl to do.

So lately I’ve been trying to play and learn my limits with the flat iron. There are two women at my job, both mixed with black, in which one has TBL hair and flat irons about once a month and the other flat irons sometimes at her desk, but for the most part weekly. The second in MBL/WL. Now, I know being mixed has a slight advantage, but damage is damage and it doesn’t discriminate. Both of these women have healthy hair and use heat tools so it makes me wonder is the flat iron really that bad if not abused?

I don’t want to get myself used to it because my hair reacts funny when the cuticles are closed too tight. However, it disciplines me to not wash or manipulate my hair. I also saw Hairlista recent video about some anti-reversion system she tried and I secretly want to try it.

But anyway, analyzing these two women make me wonder if done correctly, can it work. I’m tempted to try it out. If it doesn’t work, I just let my hair grow back out. It sucks when you think about the work I put into my hair and the fact that I may potentially damage it, but at this point, I feel like I will never learn if I don’t try and what’s the point of having all this hair if I do nothing with it. Id hate to lose 3 years of progress, but I’m not opposed to starting over if necessary and restarting my journey.

Don’t tell me I’m crazy. Ok, tell me, but please understand me too lol.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

8 thoughts on “Flat Ironing: I Ponder…..

  1. I stopped in a Walgreens on the other side of town earlier this week to look at the new Beautiful Textures straightening system. It looks interesting. It supposed to last about six washes with non-sulfate shampoo. It may help to give you a couple of weeks of no manipulation and washing. Just a thought.

    • I saw it too, but I thought it came together or just one item. Not sure how I feel about using a whole system that doesn’t come trial sized.

  2. Your feelings are understandable, especially given your energy level at this point in your pregnancy. I think using heat once a month is not too bad, as long as you make sure to up your moisture it should be fine.

    I know in the hair care world we are ingrained with the idea that heat is the devil, but I believe the consistency of the heat usage is what causes problems. My hair can tolorate heat for the most part, but I limit it just to avoid exceciveness. I’ve heard good things about the Dark & Lovely Anti/ Reversion Cream, I think even Miss Kibibi used it and like the results.

    • At this point, I’m weighing the pros and cons. I don’t think once a month is bad and roller set anyway, but I’m still skittish about direct heat in general.

Leave a Reply

