Relaxer Stretching (Again): JTTCOMB

In this Journey To The Center Of My Back… I’m almost there, but not without a few lessons. Today’s never ending lesson: Relaxer Stretching- Graduate Edition (because I’ve talked about it so much I feel like I’m not a newbie to it, though at times I still feel like I am).

Relaxer stretching isn’t for everyone. Period. When I was bonelaxed, 10 weeks was my limit. I wasn’t ashamed of it because it was what it was. That’s what kept my hair in tact.

My last stretch, was 16 weeks instead of the 20 I was aiming for. Being honest, I relaxed to avoid a setback of my own fault. I was in my first trimester, tired all the time (imagine feeling exhausted all the time), and hair was not a priority. Trying to eat and wanting to sleep was. I’d wash and either have to sit and roller set (which was so much energy I already didn’t have) or air dry in which I wouldn’t even detangle my hair because I was so tired and be I’d be walking around a HAM. I didn’t put the care I was supposed to into my hair and that’s why I relaxed.

I have more energy now so I’m back to rollersetting, but now I’m 14 weeks with a definite knowing that I’m not relaxing in 1.5-2 weeks. I have the time now to keep my efforts high with it.

Not too long ago I flat ironed, then did a few twist outs for a few weeks, then did some rollersets with flat ironing my roots. My last wash day, I definitely pulled out that flat iron. As much as I don’t like direct heat, it has been helping my stretch :/ I wouldn’t recommend that to anyone because it can be detrimental for some.

I feel that if I want to rollerset and flat iron my roots (my iron is set around 300… I know) I can’t wash as often because the constant ironing would create a problem. For this reason, I’m wondering if after a certain period in my stretch, I can wash less to flat iron more (not abusive though) to keep my hair straighter (for manageability purposes) to stretch longer. Mouthful huh?

I’ve also come to the sad conclusion that twist/braid outs are not my friend anymore and that if I wish to do these, it needs to be on blow dried hair. Semi-damp hair is killing my ends.

It seems like the easier this gets, the harder this gets. Can you relate?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

4 thoughts on “Relaxer Stretching (Again): JTTCOMB

  1. Oh man I can feel your dilema. Pre HHJ I didnt relax my hair for the entire 9 months of my pregnancy. I went with twist and braids every 6-8 weeks and my hair flourished. Am not sure if thats an option for you but it gives you a much needed break to focus on other things and get ready for baby. Congrats by the way!

    • I’ve been thinking about that option, but I’m not committing myself to it. If it can be done I will do it. I just didn’t want to relax more than 2 times during my pregnancy.

      Thank you!

  2. I can totally relate to the exhaustion of being with child. I did exactly what you are doing. Rollersets and flat ironing my roots a bit every two weeks. It wasn’t the best option but it helped me get through those months when I physically couldn’t devote that much time to my hair.

    KLP | SavingOurStrands

    • It’s becomes a lot of work, even with preparation. I’m just trying to do what I need to do to get through, but as long as the flat iron doesn’t hurt too much, in fine with it.

Leave a Reply

