Product Review: Shea Moisture Black Soap Shampoo

20140224-071027.jpg

20140224-071034.jpg

Ingredients:
Deionized Water, Decyl Glucoside (Coconut Oil), African Black Soap, Salicylic Acid, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Melia Azadirachta (Neem) Seed Oil, Charcoal Powder, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis Seed (Jojoba) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Oil*, Aloe Vera Leaf Juice, Vitamin E, Rosemary Extract, Plantain Extract, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract

Promise:
Dry, itchy scalp. Dandruff, eczema & psoriasis. Sulfate free.

SheaMoisture African Black Soap Deep Cleansing Shampoo soothes dry, itchy and flaking scalp. It is a sulfate-free shampoo that gently cleanses while removing buildup from styling products. Plantain enzyme helps calm itching and irritation. Tea tree oil removes buildup for enhanced shine and volume. Willow bark extract exfoliates and detoxifies hair and scalp.

No sulfates. No parabens. No phthalates. No paraffin. No gluten. No propylene glycol. No mineral oil. No synthetic fragrance. No PABA. No synthetic color. No DEA. No animal testing.

My Assessment:
So, prior to this I was using Redken Cleansing Cream. I switched to the SM when I found out I was pregnant and in another post I need to publish, explain that Redken has retinyl palmitate which is not good for preggies. So the SM took me a while to settle with, but their website and Pinterest states it is safe for use during pregnancy.

One of the few luxuries of living in NY is that in Harlem, there are a lot if street vendors that sell pure black soap and Shea butter soap for cheap. They are also knowledgable on these products. What they have told me is that black soap is great for problematic skin only, not for skin that is well maintained. I use black soap once and it TORE MY SKIN UP! I was scratching in front of people like I had crabs. It was embarrassing. So I was sketchy about using the SM but I clearly missed the fact that my scalp is problematic and my skin is not.

So I’ve only used it twice but while moving it up in the shower caddy last night (that means the use of the item will be decreased compared to being on the lowest shelf of my caddy) I realized something: in the last 4 months, I have had a less itchy scalp. My wash day was proposed for yesterday, but didn’t happen. Usually, I’m itching to wash because my scalp gets really itchy, then I get build-up. Since using the SM I have not had this problem. I can actually wash less now which helps with keeping my hair more moisturized because it not itching as much.

As a clarifier, I like Redken more, but I could settle with the SM because I still had an itchy scalp with Redken. With the SM, I just have to leave the shampoo on my hair for a bit longer to get it cleaner, but it still works well. It also doesn’t strip as much as Redken but still works well at getting all the bad stuff out. I tried diluting this with water like I normally do my shampoos; bust. Using it regular strength works best.

It also the first shampoo from SM I like, and I love the detox masque, but haven’t really used it enough to bother with a review. It is good though.

In all, I do recommend trying this shampoo.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

8 thoughts on “Product Review: Shea Moisture Black Soap Shampoo

  1. I was excited to try this until I saw it had salicylic acid. My scalp is so sensitized to this ingredient so it’s a no go. It actually makes me feel worse and rather miserable. Also I thought neem wasn’t to be used in pregnancy. Maybe it’s ok in small quantities. I use it neat on my face if I have spots. And I pour it into my conditioner to deal with the itchies.

    • I was weirded it out on the salicylic acid and neem too. I have actually found neem in some products and some websites are conflicting. SA is more of a concern. That’s why I haven’t used it so much and have still been on a hunt. SA also dries out my skin. What are you using?

  2. After much trial and error I decided to go back on medication. I realised what helps me the most is coal tar so I’m using Alphosyl 2-in-1 Medicated Shampoo every couple of weeks. The rest of the time I use a regular shampoo and add neem oil to my conditioner. I don’t have bumps on my scalp anymore. And since I took the (brave for me) step of not oiling my super dry scalp, I feel human again.

    • You have to do what works for you. Luckily my scalp isn’t too bad, but there are time when the itching seems unbearable and washing more or with certain treatments is just too much for my hair. I’m glad you have something that works for you.

    • Shea Moisture is pretty mild so I would see why it wouldn’t work for color treated hair. It’s mainly formulated for dry hair, but I would suggest a patch test to be safe.

Leave a Reply

