Product Review: Silk Dreams Shea What!

20140118-092436.jpg

From Silk Dreams Website

Tap into the restorative, protective, and healing power of shea butter. This therapeutic treatment leaves your hair strong, moisturized, and shiny with a host of exquisite ingredients like

*shea nut butter to protect and restore your hair to its personal, healthy best
*wheat germ oil to give a beautiful shine to your tresses
*avocado oil to nourish and moisturize
*coconut milk for more moisture power
*wheat and silk proteins to protect, moisturize, and draw moisture into the hair

Suggested use: On wet hair, apply generously through the length of the hair with extra on the ends. Leave on 15-20 minutes with a plastic cap.

Ingredients: Water,Cocos nucifera (Coconut) Cream Blend, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Stearalkonium Chloride, Butyrospermum parkii, (Shea Butter),Glycol Distearate, Dimethyl Stearamine, Persea americana(Avocado) Oil, Triticum vulgare(Wheat Germ) Oil,Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Silk Protein,Lactic Acid, Germall Plus, Anthemis nobilis(Chamomile) Extract, Fragrance

Here is my review

Smell: it smells very soft and soothing. I want to say it smells similar to Vanilla Silk. It is not strong and does not linger. Two smells I hate: strong smells and fruity smells. This product is neither.

So if you look at the product, you will see it has wheat protein and it was one of the reasons I never tried it. I actually wound up trying it due to a product swap and the Shea What was thrown in for free (a brand new jar). I almost said I wasn’t going to try it but then figured “What the Hell!!!!”

Glad I did…

The first time I tried it, it was mixed with some Keravada oils. My conditioning and hair came out phenomenal. I also left it in overnight 😦 the next time I tried it, it was by itself and it was still pretty good.

It leaves my hair balanced. That’s important to state because my hair feels neither moisturized or strong but just both. It also leaves my hair pretty soft. The Shea What! Deux didn’t work for me and I think it was because of the lack of protein. I will say that I love using this product especially now (Winter) because this winter is harsh, and my hair is left pretty healthy looking. I will say though that I will never use it after a protein treatment again. My hair was too strong. Still came out nice, but it was too strong.

The item worked best with steam, then with dry heat. I’ve been using it for a couple months now and it is definitely a staple.

My recommendation: definitely worth a try. I didn’t want to try because of low po hair and wheat protein, but I’m glad I tried it. It’s not strong but strengthening and restorative like its product description. I found the proteins made me like the actual product better. Something I have learned from using this product is that I cannot use it religiously every wash day because like I said, it is balanced, so I need to even it out with a more moisturizing conditioner if it gets to be too much. Even with a moisturizing leave-in, that works. But like I said, this is only if I use it too much. I’ve also had less dusting since using it.

I do not consider this to leave my hair to protein-y, just balanced. That’s very important to distinguish. If you use a protein or moisturizing product before or after, this product with favor that product, this I found through experimentation. Using moisture products with this item was best. This product is also the reason (along with another factor) that I am able to reduce monthly protein usage. Not upset at all.

I hope I provided a thorough review. In all, I really like this product and will keep it in rotation.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Silk Dreams Shea What!

Leave a Reply

