Thank You Polar Vortex

So, for any of you in the New England or close area, you are familiar with the polar vortex by now. 5 degrees F at best with a wind chill at least 15-20 degrees below the actual temp.

It’s not fun. I went back to elementary school and wore a scarf on my face.

20140108-115106.jpg

See that? That’s a hat. And I don’t wear hats.

I came home last night and my poor hair was still soft but it was getting pretty dry. And I wore my hood too, so yes, it was that cold. So what’s a girl to do.

I had just roller set my hair and wasn’t going to mess up a good thing. I just pulled out my spray bottle filled with water, sprayed my hair from about a foot difference til my hair was touched with water but not really damp and ran my hands down the length. I only did this mid way since the rest of my hair is hidden in a satin bonnet under my hat. Then I followed up with some Bask Palm Tapioca Hair Cream which is thicker than Darcy’s Botanicals Cocoa Bean Hair Whip and coated the parts sprayed with water. Last, I put it in a bun and covered with my satin scarf.

This morning, it was smooth hair. My hair does feel a tad coated, but it’s not dry and while this polar vortex is letting up, the cold weather will be brutal till the weekend. So can I deal? Yes. Is my hair thanking me? Yes.

Don’t let the cold water put a damper on your hair. Never be afraid to keep a butter around when them degrees hit in the 30’s and below. There are times when I say “maybe I can put these away now” and then weather happens, so I keep them on hand.

Cold weather sucks, but sometimes the best solution is the simplest one: water and butters. Water or cream and oil is not cutting it these days. It might suck for a while, but retention happens all year round so take care of your hair during its best and it’s worse.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

2 thoughts on “Thank You Polar Vortex

    • Yes girl. I texted my sister and asked her how was the weather treating her in the ATL. She said “it pretty nippy”. I bet it was!

Leave a Reply

