2013 Hits, Misses and Something InBetween

Here we go. The products and methods that either make the cut, or just get cut.

Hit: Roller setting!!!! Granted, I have been doing this for years, but this year, I feel that the hard work is paying off. I have been retaining much length and thickness, but my hair is getting too long to keep up the charade.

20131104-154028.jpg

Hit and Miss: Twist outs. I love them. In 2012, I didn’t have the thickness to achieve them the way I wanted to, but this year Im loving them. Just not too many weeks at a time as I can only go 2 weeks straight like this.

20131119-121903.jpg

Hit: Flat Ironing. I have been scared of flat irons for a while, but not anymore. I did it twice this year, and I can honestly say it is not a bad thing when you aren’t abusing it and are using the right products.

20131124-144106.jpg

Hits:

Paul Mitchell Shampoo One. I love this shampoo.

Redken Cleansing Cream: A cool clarifier for me.

Shea Moisture Deep Cleansing Shampoo: I definitely do not hate it and will be replacing it over Redken.

Castile Soap: As a shampoo, it is a keeper. Its like a regular shampoo for me. Leaves me with weekly build-up an all. Yes thats a good thing.

Miss
Elasta QP moisturizing shampoo (including the one for relaxed hair): I tried both and they are very smoothing. I wouldn’t recommend for a low porosity head.

20131231-205049.jpg

Hits: Silk Dreams Shea What! My instant hit and favorite conditioner.

Silk Dreams Mocha Silk Infusion is my fave light protein. I use it religiously in the spring.

Silk Dreams Razz Berry Coconut Affair is a bit smoothing, but moisturizing and is good in high dew point weather.

Silk Dreams Vanilla Silk is still a favorite, but is in the same category with RCA.

20131231-205057.jpg

Hit and In Between:
Naturelle Grow Marshmallow: I love this DC. It is definitely a staple.

Naturelle Grow Herbal Blends: I liked it, but didn’t really love it. I probably have to try it again, but for right now it is something in between.

Not pictured is Shea Moisture Detox Masque (in the black jar). Shea moisture is an epic fail in the hair care department for me, well, for a lot of people, but this is a hit. So far, I am liking the shampoo and masque. The masque was actually what made me try the shampoo. If you don’t like clarifying shampoos or need a mild detox, the masque on dry hair is the way to go. At least for me it is. I think I will like this to be my go to if I decide to “cowash” since it really does serve a better purpose than conditioner washing for me. Masque -> DC and done!

20131231-205105.jpg

Hit and In Between:
Darcy’s Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Conditioner: Hit. Hit. Hit.

Curl Junkie Repair Me: I did a product review on it. I’m going back to it even though it’s something in between for me, but I don’t hate it.

Curl Junkie Curl Fix: Definite Hit! It’s marketing tactic sucks as it has many ways of using it, but honestly, this is a good medium treatment. I would actually prefer this over Repair Me.

Millcreek Organics Keratin Conditioner: this stuff is good. Hands down, nothing compares to it for me.

Not pictured here is Kanechom Shea Butter and Keratin: Hit on top of Hit!!!

20131231-205113.jpg

Keravada Oils: Hits!!!

20131231-205120.jpg

Hits and In Between

Darcy’s Botanicals Daily Leave-In: This is a good watery leave-in conditioner. I only like it when my hair is in straight styles though. Wheny hair is air dried, it dries my hair out. Still a hit.

Silk Dreams Wheat Germ Conditioner: My best leave in to date.

Not pictured here is the Pura Body Naturals Murumuru Moisture Milk. Still trying this stuff out, but it’s definitely in between.

20131231-205127.jpg

Hit and In Between

Ceramide oil blend: In Between because it is only good for me when my hair is air dried. Otherwise it is just heavy and clunky. This oil is like the two year who will draw me when I’m feeling myself. I’m bought back down to earth very fast when my hair is too straight with this oil.

Organix Macadamia Dry Styling Oil: In between as it is good, but a tad on the moisture side. I don’t use it as much because believe it or not, as an oil, it does work pretty ok as aiding moisture. This contains cones, so use with caution.

Organix Awapuhu Ginger Dry Styling Oil: My favorite oil (Hit) but it does contain keratin. It works really well and keeps the hair strong and with nice shine. I usually use it for my twist outs and it leaves me with soft hair and moisturized hair for about 3 days. Even with cones. I just usually have to cowash when I use this, but the need is not pressing.

Not pictured is Kerastase Oleo-Relax Serum. It’s in between. You have the extra cash, try it, but for $7.99 I’ll keep my Organix on rotation. This product does have a strong smell, a little is still a lot and it’s only contributing factor is borage seed oil unlike Organix which has keratin, ginger, avocado, cocoa, and coconut I believe. In the end, when I’m feeling myself, the Kerastase is that starving artist who will draw me and make me look great. But, it just doesn’t have the lasting effects I would like. I smell a product review

20131231-205133.jpg

Hits and In Between
Phyto PhytoKeratine: Hit! Contributes to healthy ends, especially when they are a different texture.

Chi Silk Infusion: Hit! My best heat protectant to date!

Not pictured is Chi Keratin Silk Infusion. It is in between for me. I cannot use it to roller set, but for flat ironing, it is the bomb.com. It is in between because I can only use it 4 times a year making me burning mad 😦

20131231-205139.jpg

Hit, Miss and In Between

Darcy’s Botanicals Cocoa Bean Hair Whip: For me, it is a hit in the winter. I cannot use it as a moisturizer, but as a butter sealer, it allowed me the least amount of trimming and dusting for an entire season. I need to use this stuff again. I try others, but this is the lightest and less stickiest of the butters Ive used.

Curly Kinks Coil Jam: My best gel so far. Natural with minimal preservatives and a nice hold. Thats all I will say for now.

Bask Palm Tapioca: Don’t get me wrong, it is good. But it is heavy. This, IMO is good for a type 4z type because it is so thick and heavy, and worked well for a twist out for me, but it can be sticky and build-uppy. I liked it when I used it, but I prefer thinner butters. One thing I will say is when I washed my hair, it was mira que nice!!!

Not pictured is Hairitage Hydrations Green Tea Butter. It was a miss, being just too thick and sticky. Very good in concept, but it was just too thick and left me with sticky hair. Id recommend as a heavy sealer, but thats about it.

20131231-205149.jpg

I hope I covered everything!

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B.

14 thoughts on “2013 Hits, Misses and Something InBetween

    • Girl, I’m working on that this year, but some of the expensive stuff does last a while. The naturelle grow conditioner I find will last me longer per 8ounces than the silk dreams. The 4oz jars last me 2.5-3 uses while silk dreams per 8 ounces last 3 solid uses. So I get what your saying, but $2-$4 extra for 2-3 extra uses justifies that. The rest is just gluttony 😛

  1. Happy New Year Tasia,

    A quick one….is silk dreams wheat germ conditioner a leave in or what cos I ordered most of the deep conditioning range from their lines you reviewed this year. I’d like a bit more clarification so I don’t end up using it wrongly.

    My hits last year: Kanechom Acai, Mane N Tail Detangler (helpful during my 6month stretch), Aubrey Organics GBP, Chi Silk Infusion.
    Can’t wait to try out the Silk Dreams range this year as its going to be my staple coupled with Aubrey Organics.

    • I’m interested in that mane and tail as I keep hearing about it.

      The wheat germ conditioner I use as both a leave-in when I’m air drying and as a moisturizer when my hair is air dried. For me, it is dual. Some people like it better as a leave-in, others a moisturizer. For the most part, once I use it as a leave-in when I’m detangling and do a twist out, I usually do not have to use it again for a few days. If I do use it after as a moisturizer, it doesn’t build-up.

      I initially bought it as a moisturizer but actually like it better as a leave-in.

  2. Love your list! I see a few things I may consider trying.

    My biggest hits for the year: ceramide oils (grapeseed, hempseed, safflower), DB Pumpkin Seed Conditioner, SD VSCMD, KV Hibiscus/Fenugreek/Bhringraj oils, HH Jar of Joe, and HH Pink Grapefruit Punch Conditioner. I have a few other hits but tend to sing praises about the listed items when asked about my hair.

    A question about the Naturelle Grow Marshmallow- are you using the regular or protein free version? I like the ingredients but am looking for another non-protein DC to add to the mix. I’ve considered grabbing the SD Shea What Deux and giving it a try too.

    • You have some really good hits. I love your list.

      The naturelle grow, I was not aware that came in a protein version. I’m not sure it has protein but I don’t think it does.

      • She lists a regular version (it’s not really advertised as a protein conditioner from what I read though) and a protein & glycerin free version.

      • I might have the protein and glycerin free version though. I know she has venasilk, but it’s actually not silk or protein I think.

Leave a Reply

