Random Nothings About… Diet and Exercise

As requested, I am posting about my diet and exercise…

Let me start with my diet. It’s pretty simple.

One of the most important things to understand is that a diet is what you eat and how you eat. It’s how you survive. You can’t really go on a diet… You just have to modify it. That’s important because even I didn’t really know that until some time this century. As years have passed by, my diet consistently changes to what I like and don’t… really care for.

At this point, I don’t really eat meat. Maybe sometimes, but my favorite animal is the cow (butter is just better) but I don’t need it in my life. I’m a fish person and when I do eat meat, I limit it to once a day.

I will say this: fruit and vegetables are my best friend. Natures candy is always better than mans excuse for candy. You can still have and enjoy a meat based diet if you moderate well with [raw] fruits and vegetables.

And now to exercising.

My favorite workout out apps are the one I will post below:

20131205-175259.jpg

The colorful apps are really good and targets whatever you feel like. You just type in ab workout or leg workout in the market or applications on your phone and hers should come up. She is a personal trainer and is demonstrating the move for the entire time it’s up.

20131205-202351.jpg

You can vary your workouts between 5, 7.5 and 10 minutes. She also has 2-3 settings for each target area and you can make your own workout. She has a ball workout and Pilates, but you mighty have to pay for those. I paid .99 to unlock some workouts and it was well worth it IMO. Better than hiring a real trainer. I do these when I want low impact workouts or have time constraints.

Nike training club is my holy grail. That app will make you sweat, swear, drop, drop and reshape you like never before. I always recommend NTC because you can do it at your own pace, there are about 40-60 workouts, including celebrity workouts, workout rewards (ab and butt workout and full body workout are my favorite rewards; there’s an advanced yoga workout from Leah Kim too along with a full body workout from Agostina Lanerie (?) who has beautiful thick, toned legs and an ab workout from Joselyn Boshlen (?) that’s a killer) and best of all…. IT’S FREE!!!! Compatible with iPhone and android! Get it, like now! I do them 2-4x a week. These have warm-ups and cool down and 15 minute workouts for target areas.

20131205-202401.jpg

20131205-202406.jpg

Most people are scared of Jillian Michaels, but she works. I like her No More Trouble Zones and Blast Fat Boost Metabolism but now I stick with her 3-2-1 system which is 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio and 1 minute of abs. It has 4 weeks or levels and all increase with intensity. I would only recommend this to someone who is familiar with Jillian and who is somewhere above an intermediate exerciser. It’s that hard. Right up there with 6-week six pack. I highly recommend her 30-day shed and the first two I mentioned. I like to do these DVDs 1-2 days a week. And some of them are in YouTube.

Jessica Smith is my favorite trainer. She’s adorable and makes everything look easy. I like all her workouts, but my fave is her belly butt and thighs as it has a resistant band. I do this on occasion.

Someone I love but do not recommend: Jeanette Jenkins. I love her, she cute and Kelly is great to drool at while popping a squat, but she makes it looks like ice cream and cake when it’s really steam brussel sprouts and boiled chicken with a side smell of dead rat. She’s hard. I have cardio abs and I cried. A lot. I did it twice and that was 3 weeks ago.

I do yoga, but there is only one DVD I like and I’m scared to go to a class.

Last, besides the gym (I don’t recommend) the best resource for exercise programs: YouTube. I have it on my phone, computer and on my tv. I like efit30, lionsgate and popsugar fitness with the first and last having the best variety as well as Pilates, yoga and strength training videos.

My workout regimen is to workout 3-4 times a week 30-45 minutes a day with only 2-3 days of strength training, 1 day of cardio unless the cardio can be fit in somewhere in the other workouts. I also prefer to have 1 day of yoga or Pilates, so cardio needs to be mixed with something else. You can have a workout regimen just fit your need.

Finally, strength training is more beneficial to women than cardio. It’s burns more calories and fat along over a longer period of time.

One of those options has to work. Don’t give up, keep your eyes on the prize and after you buy a mat, dumbbells, a medicine ball and maybe kettlebell, keep it cheap. Remember, hairs habits aren’t cheap (-_-) Lol!!!! I barely try to pay money to exercise and I like to do it home where its judgement free.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

10 thoughts on “Random Nothings About… Diet and Exercise

  1. Hi I love you blog and your kick ass/str8 up attidue!! Jillian Michaels is no joke. I have her Ripped in 30, 6 week 6 pack and Abs killer. She’s a bad bia. Noe Jenkins I haven’t tried yet. I may give her Cardio abs a shot.

    • Hi Mia,
      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoy.

      I actually have all of those DVDs but the 3-2-1 I enjoyed the best because of HIIT training. The Jeanette Jenkins is really hard as it is intense. Kelly Rowland does the modified versions anyway so you know it’s not easy.

Leave a Reply

