Product Review: KeraVada Oils

photo.1

Rwanda Coffee Oil:

Ingredients: Organic Coconut Oil, Organic Olive Oil, Organic Grapeseed Oil, Rwandan Black Coffee

Claims: It will stimulate the scalp for growth

How to use: On scalp, as a pre-poo, as a conditioner, hot oil treatment or mixed in shampoo

Amla, Brahmi, Fenugreek, Bringraj, Neem, Hibiscus with MSM

Ingredients: Amla, Bringaraj, Brahmi, Fenugreek (Methi), Hibiscus, Neem, Tulsi (Holy Basil), Aloe Vera, Coconut Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Avocado Oil, Jamaican Castor Oil Sunflower Oil, Vitamin E, Grapeseed Oil, Olive Oil, Dead Sea Minerals (MSM on my bottle)

Claims: Ayurvedic properties to stimulate growth, prevent breakage, repairing damage and silkier hair

How to use: On scalp, as a pre-poo, as a conditioner, hot oil treatment or mixed in shampoo

Organic Bringraj (The Small Jar)

Ingredients: Bringaraj, Coconut Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Olive Oil

Claims: Prevents Breakage

My Assessment:

I love these oils.

I initially bought them because while I had a shopping cart full of these herbs on Amazon, I really didn’t want to be bothered with all the mixing after using Shikaikai a while back with sooooo much mess. The best way to use ayurvedic oils is to infuse them in oil, but the task can be very time consuming. I am all for being a DIY, for example, while I love my coffee/tea rinses, and would recommend making the brew yourself, I wouldn’t suggest that you buy the teas separately unless you’d really want all the tea in your house. Otherwise, just buy a mix and use that, but don’t buy the tea already made; thats just a waste. Im all for DIY, but sometime the “Farm-to-Plate” method can be too much. Anyway, I can’t be bothered with the herbs and stuff. Probably will still invest in the herbs, but not be that motivated with them.

So Ive tried these oils in different ways and I will talk about each.

  • As a scalp massage: it didn’t give me itches like most oils do so I found it to be a keeper. I used only the Rwanda for scalp massages and it was very soothing. Highly Recommend
  • As a prepoo: I used both as a prepoo and while I like the Amla one better due to results after washing, the Rwanda caused less shedding than a coffee rinse for me when massaged into the scalp. Good, but I don’t want to use alot of product, you could just use a regular oil.
  • As an add-in to shampoo: I mostly used the Bringraj oil. I can’t give a concrete answer on how “great” it is because shampoo is shampoo to me. I just notice root lift as in more volume in my roots. Recommend
  • As an add-in to conditioner: I mostly used the Bringraj oil which is really good and deceives me into thinking companies are changing their formulas. It is really good. I used the Amla and Rwanda one once (thats why the label is runny) and they were really good, but the Bringraj is the best in my opinion. Don’t get me wrong, all of them are good, but the Bringraj gives me improved moisture retention. The Amla gives me volume and the Rwanda gives me more shine and less breakage than all of them. Interesting. Highly Recommend
  • As a sealer: On twist-outs (when my hair is usually air dried or diffused), thebomb.com. Gives a nice shine, increased strength since it does have ceramides and holds in moisture really well Highly Recommend. On straight hair, waste of a good product. Don’t get me wrong, as a sealer on my roller set hair, it works good, but such a good and quality oil deserves a better purpose. My hair is at its strongest straight, so the purpose of the oil is defeated Least Recommend.

All in all, Id recommend these oils. I have a few more in my cart.

The MSM in the Amla has not affected me in anyway, but I know that is a concern for some.

I have noticed faster growth in a shorter period of time as I noticed new growth at 4 weeks post rather than 8 weeks post and Im only 7 weeks post. I can run my fingers through my NG, causing me to have hands in the hair syndrome and I do not normally suffer from that. I am not saying I see more growth yet, just faster growth and that was after 2 weeks of using the Bringraj alone.

Ive also noticed less breakage, increase moisture retention, less shedding overall between washes and shine. Best of all, when my hair is straight, I only need to M&S 1 time a week and when its in a twist out, my hair doesn’t need to be retouched with more moisturizers when retwist. I really cannot think of a bad thing to say about these oils. I have used them multiple times, but because you do not need to be heavy handed with them, one bottle can last about 3-4 months. You do not need much for mixing, sealing (I barely use a dot for a twist or my ends) or your scalp, so I have barely used 1/5 of each bottle and I will probably have these bottles well in to the new year. Mind you, I have used them all for the purposed previously stated.

I believe my scent in warm vanilla or something that smells like candy. Not sure, so if I cannot remember, that means the smell is not bothering me.

At the end of the day, you have to use it how it works for you, but the most price-concious and beneficial ways I have used them is as a scalp massage, in my DC and as a sealer on twist-outs.

I hope this review was helpful!

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia B.

6 thoughts on “Product Review: KeraVada Oils

  1. Can u tell me if ur hair is LoPo or HiPo meaning it absorbs all liquids pretty well. I am LoPo but can not find any info on whether these oils in particular would be good for my hair.

  2. Pingback: Dreaming of a Vegan Black Friday, part I | The Vegan Oracle

Leave a Reply

