Wash Day

I secretly love my wash days.

I had already had a twist out which I cowashed with DB conditioning cleanser, but with cold weather, my hair needs more upkeep.

I washed with PM Shampoo One by diluting it in an applicator bottle with about 2-3 tbsp of poo and ~10 ounces of water. Idk why I slept on diluting shampoo but it is a life saver, saves in shampoo and it much easier to apply to hair. I also added a dropper of Kera Vada bringraj oil to the mix.

I did a tea rinse with: black tea, peppermint tea (it works wonders on soothing my scalp), burdock root (my scalp itches for this literally), horsetail, chamomile (my scalp likes this too), marshmallow root, lavender, Oatstraw, and Moringa. My hair actually got hard and its never done this before with a tea rinse. It wasn’t horrible, but I think it may have been the Moringa. No matter, I did not hate it at all.

I finally tried the Silk Dreams Destination Hydration and mixed in some Kera Vada oil as well. I put on a plastic cap and sat under my heating cap for maybe 30 minutes. Slip City (Thanks EnExit!). Oh man, I really liked this.

I t-shirt dried for 30 minutes, but for some reason, my hair was still really wet 😦 I just continued to detangle (which was very easy), did a braid out (Thanks to EnExit again) and put the braids up in flexirods.

I used Eden Heart Moisturizing Leave-in Moisturizer and sealed after the braids were formed with my homemade ceramide mix.

20131028-102400.jpg

Now when I used to do braid outs, this was typically how I did them. 3-4 braids and 1 flexirod. I only stopped doing braid outs because they are time consuming and flexirods are uncomfy to sleep in if you don’t place them right.

Now for the reveal 🙂

20131028-102538.jpg
I apologize for looking so sleepy but it was early and I had to get ready to leave. The braids took about 15 minutes to take out and fluff, hence why I stopped doing braid outs. Granted, I always get pretty good results.

20131028-102546.jpg

20131028-102557.jpg

20131028-102608.jpg
At the train station. The final effect. I was brave and wore my hair out!!!! I’ll probably be brave a few days this week, but I’m also going to have to wash constantly to keep my hair from drying out due to cold weather and possible rubbing on a wool coat and pashmina #gasp Its only 1 week, probably 3 days of wearing my hair out in total, so I’m not gonna worry myself. A year ago, this would not be happening.

How was your wash day?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia B.

8 thoughts on “Wash Day

  1. Awesome wash day results!
    I haven’t had my [co-]wash day yet thanks to an unexpected sinus infection 😦
    My scalp & hair aren’t dirty but it could use the moisture which is why i was going to attempt to co-wash for the 1st time {fingers crossed]. Once this sickness has passed, I’ve got to get to it.
    Seeing your braidout results really make me want to give it a go again! I too stopped because they are time consuming. Loved the results but hated the time I had to put into it.

    • My sinuses haven’t bothered me in a while and I am keeping my fingers crossed because I get bed ridden every year because of them. Get Well 🙂

      Cowashing is cool, but I don’t really care for it, just do it for added moisture and it does help a bit, but it also just adds more work during the week. I loved the braid out, and I was really happy with the results, but I remember why I only do twist outs, because they are much easier. I just cannot mimic the same results with twist outs I can with braid outs. This is why they do not get done that often. Ill probably stick with twist outs next week.

  2. YOUR…HAIR….LOOKED….AMAZING! I was late looking at this today, but I’m glad I did.

    Yes, honey the DH by SD is bomb.com. I have a few bottles in my stash for that very reason lol. Oh, I got the Mocha Silk today. I think I’m going to use it Fri. for my wash. I haven’t used protein in 3 weeks and my hair is behaving, but to risk it acting up I need some ASAP!

Leave a Reply

