Curl Junkie Repair Me vs. Millcreek Organics Keratin Conditioner

This will be my official review of CJ Repair Me as I have been using for a while and have yet to do a review.

photo 1

Both of my Keratin conditioners.

photo 2photo 3

Comparison of the ingredients of both.

CJ is a reconstructing treatment with Hydrolyed Keratin and Keratin Amino Acids while MO has Hydrolyzed Keratin. What I like about CJ is that it has softening and moisturizing oils. It also makes my hair softer as soon as it hits clarified hair. I can usually detangle gently with this conditioner and it does make my hair feel stronger. I really have nothing bad to say about it and for a couple of relaxer stretches, it has been my go to.

In comparison with my MO, I will say that that CJ doesn’t feel as strong as when I use MO as MO seems to be a “harder” medium protein treatment while CJ is just on the “average or epitome” medium treatment. MO just doesn’t leave my hair hard and that is the only thing that distinguishes it from a hard protein treatment but in terms of how it leaves my hair, it definitely comes out stronger and needs more conditioning, which is not a bad thing.

CJ leaves my hair soft and moist, and the feeling is increased after I deep condition. The only problem with CJ is that I need a “boost” between the 4 weeks I normally use protein conditioning. Without a light protein, I’d probably suffer from moisture overload from not enough protein or protein overload from using too much protein. I usually need a boost 1.5 weeks after, but wait 2 weeks for wash days. With MO, I need a boost around 3 weeks, in which that time, I can just wait.

CJ allows for me to use CHI Keratin Mist for a boost with wash and sets. Though I like CHI KM as a heat protectant, it still doesn’t provide the conditioning I like compared to using protein on wet hair and using heat to set it. With MO, playing with protein is not cool. Kind of like a “don’t try this at home kids” not cool.

I honestly like CJ and during the hotter months, it was a great alternative. Because of the changing weather, increased moisture retention (I actually did get to enjoy for once) and traveling,  the CJ worked great, but depending on when I used it and where I went, I had to constantly travel with protein products because the state of my hair would become too unpredictable. That wasn’t a bad thing for me because I know I can’t really suffer from protein overload with this reconstructor.

It is a good reconstructor and I would definitely recommend it for those with finer strands, as it doesn’t get hard, those with chemically treated hair, as it has keratin and those who live in humid environments. I know its made for natural hair (my natural friend has it too and uses it 4x a year), but unless you are doing hard core stuff to your hair, naturals may not even go through a bottle of this in a year. I have used it maybe 4 times and I haven’t gone through half the bottle and now that “Winter’s Coming” I am probably not going to revisit it until Spring. Seriously! Its just gonna sit there. Its a good curl popper and great for processed hair, and if you have the $30 to dish out because you aren’t happy with your protein treatment, need something lighter or harder, or haven’t tried a protein treatment for strand size reasons, then give this a try. If you are happy with the one you have, then skip it or try it if you like. I think the problem I have with it is that it works fine when my hit is air dried, but wears out quickly with continued heat from wash and sets.

Like I said, I like it and will continue to use it, but for $7, Millcreek Organics has yet to be replaced and it makes Tasia happy every time!

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia S.

4 thoughts on “Curl Junkie Repair Me vs. Millcreek Organics Keratin Conditioner

    • If you like the 2-minute this might be a good replacement but for the price, to me it could be better. I don’t hate it, I just don’t think it is worth that much money.

    • No Problem! I think it was good, but it wasn’t great. If you can get a sample, try it out, but if you want something hard, it might not be the one. I found strengthening but just not great.

Leave a Reply

