The Road To Texlaxed Hair: 16 Month Post

There’s this saying “That all he/she/I/they know!”

Now the story begins.

I started my hair journey back in November 2011. In about April 2012, I was tired of breakage and not being able to achieve bone straight hair. Due to a bad experience, I don’t believe in correctives on myself, so I left it alone. At that point, the unprocessed hair just led me to texlax (along with reading blogs and lurking forums).

At first I hated the transition. I felt like I looked like I needed a relaxer. At first, because of the change in textures, I did experience puffier roots and I relaxed more often because of them. I went from stretching for 10 weeks, to reverting to 8 weeks and working my way back to 13 weeks over the course of the last year. I feel I had to do that to get to learn my hair. We hear about stretches gone bad all the time, so with texlaxed hair that I didn’t know how to deal with and new growth, “doing the right thing” by stretching would have caused me a setback.

From April to November came the hardest part: switching to lye relaxers. I had stumbled upon Ms. Kibibi’s YouTube one day and then I started questioning why my texlaxed hair wasn’t as thick as hers. I almost played the blame game with ethnicities, but I stopped myself. I realized after a relaxer that the problem was using no lye relaxers. With no lye, even if I didn’t smooth, my hair was still straight. I’d smooth once, but I would still have straighter than I wanted roots. I then decided that maybe the problem was with my relaxer. I didn’t want to find the perfect no-lye relaxer so I said Phuket and got a lye relaxer. I know that linange no lye wont over process, but i didnt learn that until I used it on my cousin and I was already using lye by that time. Changing, for me, made all the difference.

The next problem was breakage: mine was pretty minimal. Most of my breakage was due to manipulation (or lack of it), or a protein/moisture imbalance. I started focusing on ceramides to reduce breakage, and they work, but I’ve stated before that my hair “likes” ceramides. Most of the blogs and forums I read prepared me to get ready for increased breakage due to the weakness point of demarcation. My breakage though, outside of what I previously stated decreased dramatically after getting a seamless comb. Any demarcation breakage I had was due to lack of protein; easily fixed though never an issue. Breakage is rarely my issue.

20130829-143737.jpg

The hair to ~SL is the texture I prefer to stay with. From SL to APL, its not as textured, but its still thicker than my bone straight ends. The only thing helping my poor bone straight ends are ceramides.

20130829-143732.jpg

One thing I can say that I really believe helped me through this transition: roller sets. “It’s all I know!” I do rollersets so I can be lazy during the week. Bun and Go’s. Little did I realize this style it what made the transition better. My theory is that roller setting smooths the hair so that any weak parts of the hair lay down better and are less likely to break. Hey, I still get breakage, buts its mostly from stupidity. I actually get more breakage air drying.

Also, as I’ve stated, my hair likes ceramides. Hair may love ceramides more if you air dry. Mostly because any kind of heat affects surface/cuticle damage while air drying affects natural occurring ceramides in the hair. Heat treated hair does not affect the ceramide layer in the hair (actually, it helps them stay intact) while air drying can degrade the layer. Remember, ceramides are the glue of the hair and prolonged exposures to water causes them to weaken. It’s a pro and con thing.

Anyway, for anyone out there having problems or struggling with the transition to texlax, it has its ups and downs. My up is rollersetting which has made the transition better. I often read that the first year is the hardest when people transition to natural. While I’m no where near going natural, I understand. I didn’t even realize it was a year. I noticed it was taking longer to comb, but I didn’t really think about it.

Excellent #MrBunsVoice

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

10 thoughts on “The Road To Texlaxed Hair: 16 Month Post

  1. I think that I’ve (unintentionally) transitioned to a more textured-texlax-texture. *now say that 10 times fast-LOL* I decided to switch to a lye relaxer plus add oils to it during my last touch up. It left my hair with more texture in it—and I think that I love it! The only down side is that it will take months before my entire length is this new-new texture.

    http://www.savingourstrands.blogspot.com

    • Girl,

      It’s still worth it. I did it accidentally and I was frustrated. It’s a year later, but Im really liking it. Can’t wait until I’m fully texlaxed. It’s itching to see it now.

  2. I’m also transitioning to texlax. I do lovvvve the texture and how most of the styles I do have so much definition such as bantu knots. Loving your blog

Leave a Reply

