Product Review: Silk Dreams RazzBerry Coconut Affair

20130826-222654.jpg

From the website:
Luscious and ultra creamy Razzberry Coconut Affair conditions, moisturizes, and smooths medium to thick hair; not recommended for fine hair

Directions: Apply to wet hair thoroughly. Leave on with a plastic cap for 10-20 minutes. Rinse.

Ingredients: Water, Cocos nucifera (Coconut) Milk, Stearalkonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Oryza sativa (Rice Bran) Oil, Agave Americana (Agave) nectar, Cetyl Alcohol, Prunus persica(Peach) Kernel Oil, Germall Plus, Rubus idaeus (Raspberry) Powder, Camellia sinensis (Green Tea) Extract, Fragrance

PLEASE NOTE: This product contains real raspberries in the form of 100% pure raspberry powder, so you may notice a few fuschia specks throughout your product.

You look at the ingredients and it like, “Whats not to like?”

Well, I’ll tell you about my experience with it. I’ve use 3 jars already, so I think I can say a few things about it. Just keep in mind I have combination medium/thick strands and low porosity hair.

I’ll start with cons:
-I can’t complain that its very thick and creamy, but you can find yourself using too much if you aren’t careful.
-The product is smoothing, so it can leave your hair slick if you aren’t looking for that.
-Wash this product out really well. I hate going to roller set and finding purple spots with raspberries in it. Those raspberries have to be rinsed out really well.
-Because its heavy, I found it to be slightly residue-ey but not much. It’s heavy, so a little coating is expected.

What I did like:
-This product is very rich and moisturizing. When I rollerset, my hair is very manageable and stays moisturized for days longer than vanilla silk.
-Smells like a piece of heaven. I want to eat it, but I know I can’t. The smell doesn’t linger either.
-You don’t need alot, so the less you use, the better.
-You don’t have to use heat, but I got the best results using it with steam. The most unfavorable (ok) results were without heat.
-Ceramides and agave my hair likes.
-Coconut milk is my favorite friend on wet hair. It’s actually the best way I’ve liked coconut so far on my head.
-Works well with my heat protectant.

For the most part, I really liked this product. It was really good. I don’t really have anything negative to say about it because honestly, I like it. It won’t replace Vanilla Silk for me, but I find myself using it over vanilla silk. It works well on airdried and roller set hair but I find myself not being able to use it more than 1x a week.

I wouldn’t recommend this product to just anyone. This was made for a specific hair type, so use at your own caution if you don’t fit that. I have thick strands so I find it heavy, but GOOD. Last, I found it best to use in sections.

Hope this review helped. What was your experience? Any concerns?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

8 thoughts on “Product Review: Silk Dreams RazzBerry Coconut Affair

  1. Well, I was HOPING that she would have a Labor Day Sale so that I can give it a try…I guess I will have to wait for BF sales. Great review and I am sure my thick hair can totally handle this one! So excited to try it!

    • Ive been hoping for a sale. Im trying not to buy too much now so I can stock up then. I definitely want more of her leave in and possibly give some of her other products a try.

  2. I totally want to try this DC from SD. I don’t mind a smoothing conditioner. I use PM Super Skinny condish every wash day anyway (unless I happen to be out of it). It’ll be interesting to have the smoothing in a DC since that’s my last step as far as washing goes.
    I’m really trying to hold out for a BF sale at Silk Dreams. Fingers crossed I can tame the PJ until then!

Leave a Reply

