Product Review: Silk Dreams Wheat Germ Butter Conditioner

20130730-175240.jpg

Website states:
The product is versatile enough to be used as a rinse out or leave-in conditioner. Wheat germ oil is a natural conditioner and ceramide and offers extra protection to the hair. Relaxed heads don’t feel left out because you’ll like this one too!

Smooth through wet hair. Leave in 5 minutes and rinse. As a leave-in, use a nickel to quarter sized amount and smooth onto hair, especially the ends. You can also use Wheat Germ Butter Conditioner as a final rinse

Ingredients: Water, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Triticum vulgare (Wheat Germ) Butter, Persea gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Polyquaternium 7, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Panthenol, Germall Plus, Fragrance.

Here is my assessment:
Smell
I found that at first it smells like Avocado Pudding: somewhere around a pineapple daiquiri. But over time (I think I’ve had it for 2 months or so) it smells like good old wheat germ oil. Now, I personally do not care about the smell of WGO. It smells better than cod liver oil, so I can tolerate it, but I do understand why some people avoid it like the plague. I kept the bottle closed for the most part and these past wash days, I opened it and smelled it and my eyebrow went up. You know that look… Even when I play with WGO at home, no amount of EO keeps that smell away for long. It’s not pungent, but it lingers if you get my drift.

Texture

20130730-180502.jpg

20130730-180508.jpg

20130730-180513.jpg

The texture is pretty ok. It comes off as thick but rubs very well.

Uses
I’ve never used it as a final rinse because I really do not use final rinses anymore. I also feel like I’d need alot. When my hair is air dried, its works as an exceptional leave-in. It leaves my hair soft with body and you can actually see the moisture. This is the first leave-in I used that doesn’t leave my hair needing to be moisturized daily. I do find myself being a tad heavy handed on this product, but it never left me with build-up. I also used it during my last stretch and while it wasn’t bad and it wasn’t great, I didn’t have demarcation breakage while using it.

When my hair is straight, this is too heavy as a moisturizer. I tried and I can’t use it. When my hair is straight, I need something more water based. When I used it before flat ironing, I’m still experiencing good moisture retention.

I find that the best way for me to this is on damp hair (either after washing or using my water filled spray bottle) and sealing with oil then letting my hair air dry. I’ve air dried regular and used a diffuser and it didn’t compromise results either time.

Any final thoughts?
I really like this product. I hate that I can’t use it when my hair is straight, but that just means I don’t have to buy it as often.

My skin loves ceramides, but my hair likes ceramides so I mostly use it as I need it. For that reason, it doesn’t leave me with build-up.

Have you tried it? What do you think?
Haven’t tried it? Ask me questions!

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

9 thoughts on “Product Review: Silk Dreams Wheat Germ Butter Conditioner

  1. Excellent Review Tasia. I have a bottle I’m going to dig into when winter rolls around. Right now it humid as all get out in Georgia and I’m using as much glycerin as possible lol.

    • Ohhhh. Yeah, good ole Georgia. Hide ya good stuff and get out the simple stuff that works. I do hope you like it and I don’t blame you for hiding it. I liked the results better in summer than spring though.

  2. I’ve been waiting on this review, thank you so much!
    I’ve been curious about trying this product because I’m learning my hair really likes ceramides. I never realized that until I decided to try L’Oreal’s Total Repair line for damaged hair. Now I’m all over ceramides with a passion when it comes to my hair and my skin.
    I was concerned about the protein content. I’m assuming you didn’t really experience any issues with it in that department?

    • Ceramides for my skin has been the best thing ever. As far as the protein, it really wasn’t an issue. I thought it would be but for once wheat protein hasn’t failed me. I still don’t think I’d trust wheat protein in other products, but in this one, I didn’t even feel the effects.

  3. How are you able to use this conditioner because I thought you said your low porosity hair doesn’t like wheat protein? also if i use a moisturizing dc with silk amino acids would that be a light protein for my hair or just moisturizing? P.S. I have lp hair also

    • Hi Miranda,
      I wondered the same thing. I only tried it because I figured why not and was really looking for something. I had no expectations it would work because wheat protein is horrid on my hair, but for once this is a product that uses wheat protein specifically for moisturizing purposes. My hair never even feels like it has protein from the product.

      I’ve tried using a product with silk as a leave-in and somehow it leaves my hair a tad hard. It’s doesn’t really work well for me. I’m still testing it, but the silk on dry hair for me is a no no.

    • Silk amino acids can be tricky. It’s small enough to penetrate the hair, so it can be moisturizing or build-up if you aren’t careful.

Leave a Reply

