3 Topics, 1 Post

 

 

 

Three Topics to discuss: 

1) Wash Day

2) Flat Iron

3) Setting Goals

 

Wash Day

My hair felt like it had dookie on it so it needed to be clarified.

I used my Redken Cleansing Creme. It felt really good.

Followed with Curl Junkie Repair Me for 20 minutes. 

Followed with Silk Dreams Razzberry Coconut Affair for 25 minutes with heat.

T-Shirt dried for 30 minutes then detangled with SD Wheat Germ Butter Conditioner and my homemade Ceramide Oil Blend. My hair came out really nice. Fluffy and all.  I do need a tea rinse though.

Flat Iron

So I finally took the plunge and flat ironed. I did this 2 days after washing. I used CHI Keratin Silk Infusion and Sedu flat iron on 350 degrees F. Why So High? Because my hair is thick and heat resistant. If you have thin strands, I wouldn’t recommend this heat setting. I put my hair in halves then flat ironed in sections. 

 

photo 4

*this is a comparison of one side versus another where one side is ironed and the other is not

 

 

photo 1-1

*This is what it looked like just air dried and combed

 photo 2

*This is the same section after the iron

 

photo 3 

*the first side done

photo 5

*comparison of the one half ironed and the other air dried half

photo photo 1-2 photo 2-1 photo 3-1 photo 4-1 photo 5-2     

In all I am pretty happy with the results. I was a little heavy handed with the CHI because my hair was dry so the absorption was not as great, but the iron glided smoothy on my hair and my hair came out like a dream. I am definitely feeling the thickness, but after my next wash day, its back to air dried fun buns for a little while. Mostly to recover from this iron (though I doubt it did much). Even with the temperature of the iron, my hair was still thick to look at and feel.

Setting Goals

So after flat ironing, I have decided that I am going to revamp my goals. My ends are not as bad as I thought they were. I mean they are pretty straight compared to about my APL hair. I wanted to cut these ends (I mean I eventually will) but I am not as eager to anymore. My hair is too thick to focus on thickness so now I want to focus on retention. Im glad I took the plunge to finally flat iron because it made me feel less in despair about my ends and now my goals seems more uplifting. Im still not in a rush to reach WL until the end of next year, and I have a “view” of the ends I want, but if I reach WL sooner, I won’t hate it. 

My Attitude Right Now: Dopeness Status!

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia S.  

12 thoughts on “3 Topics, 1 Post

    • Omg. I’ve been working on health for so long that I forgot about retention. I just really was not thinking about it. I know that seems so blind, but I was struggling with health for so long that I didn’t concern myself with anything else. Now perhaps I can shift a focus without ignoring either!

    • Sure. I’m actually going to do a post on it soon so I’ll talk about it then. It’s nothing special, just oils I feel that work best for me.

  1. Gorgeous results! Love the Sedu iron! Man, I cannot WAIT to take a flat iron to my hair to see where I am. It is so hard to accurately tell the status of your length AND ends when you are transitioning! Loved the hair and I hope you and the hubby did something special to show it off!

    • I really like the sedu. I only needed one heat pass and it glides really well. I can’t wait for you to try it so we can see your results. I’m sure it will be good.

      I’m going to a bachelorette party so… Nothing special with the hubby. I don’t even think he noticed I did it.

Leave a Reply

