Product Review: Silk Dreams Mocha Silk Infusion

photo 1

Before I begin this review, please remember I have low to lower porosity hair, I am a regular roller setter and I have medium to thick strands

Promises: This super emollient silk protein conditioner repairs hair by reinforcing the cuticle with hydrolyzed silk protein, and emollients cocoa butter, cupuacu butter, and palm oil help to further pack and smooth the hair cuticle resulting in shiny, healthy, gorgeous hair. Coffee butter adds scalp benefits by increasing circulation. It is recommended that you use a moisturizing conditioner after using MSI, or a substantially moisturizing leave-in conditioner

Ingredients: Water, Cetyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Persea gratissima(Avocado) Oil, Glycerin, Hydrolyzed Silk Protein, Coffea arabica (Coffee Seed) Butter, Palm Kernel Oil, Panthenol, Theobroma grandiflorum (Cupuacu) Butter, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Theobroma cacao (Cocoa) Butter, Cocoa Powder, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Germall Plus, Fragrance

photo 2-4

Thats the real deal: Creamy and Buttery (Literally)

photo 4-2 photo 3-2 photo 5-1

This is how it scoops and the thickness of it really shows. But its not super thick: It spreads well.

This smells like chocolate and spreads really well in the hair. You can tell it is handmade because when you dip your fingers in it, its so aerated that its literally fluffy when you scoop it. You do not need a lot of this to apply to the hair, usually a small amount works for me.

It took me three months of staring at this product in my shower before I finally said PHUKET, I’m gonna use this. At the time, I was using Aphogee 2 minute and I had wanted a replacement for it because it had mineral oil and IDC what anyone says, that stuff may soften the hair but it does not moisturize the hair. I experimented with heavy, non-penetrating oils during my relaxer and while it COMPLETELY blocked runoff, it left my hair drier in the end when removed (I didn’t hate it with my relaxer though). I was scared to use it because I thought it would conflict with protein, but I took the plunge anyway, especially since I spent a $12 on it and finally gave it a try. Its a staple now.

I normally use this product as a light protein treatment between protein uses. Normally, I will have some breakage that is not plenty, but not enough for a medium treatment (I don’t do hard anymore) and this nips it pretty well. Since I am a roller setter, even with indirect heat, I need to replenish protein on a consistent basis. I can comb well through the hair with this conditioner. I notice less breakage after using and I have softer hair as well.

Directions do indicate that you follow up with a moisturizing conditioner or leave-in/moisturizer and to use with or without heat. Now Ive only used this with heat or steam and noticed better results with steam. Heat was good as well, but steam had a better effect; probably because of low po hair with the butters and better absorption <- left me with bouncy hair. I could see myself skipping use of a moisture DC after using this, but Im so scared of protein that I wouldn’t. I could if I wanted to.

Now I would recommend this product. I would also mention a few things. This is a protein product with silk and I do not think the treatment can be considered more than medium. Depending on your hairs receptiveness to protein, some may find it stronger or weaker than other treatments. Now like I said, I roller set weekly, so for me, this product comes in time. If I didn’t roller set weekly, I probably would still like it, but not use it as much. When I don’t use heat, I do not need much protein. Regardless, this product does not leave me with hard hair, dry hair or any kind of overload. It just leaves me with less breakage and softer hair; what I expect from a protein treatment. It does not counter effect my medium protein usage and when I do use protein, my hair doesn’t feel overloaded. Then again, medium treatments make my hair softer than harder. I can see someone having a different effect from this treatment, but I cannot see someone hating it if you know your hair’s protein receptiveness. If there was ever any doubt, just have your best moisture DC around.

In the end, for me, this is just a light treatment that leaves my hair well moisturized, with less breakage and with healthier, more behaved hair. Because its light, it couldn’t replace my medium treatment, but for some, I could see this being a good medium treatment if protein is a problem for you. Its definitely worth a try.

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia S.

10 thoughts on “Product Review: Silk Dreams Mocha Silk Infusion

    • It will. I was worried about using it because of keratin and I was worried it could potentially overload but it didn’t. My hair is pretty fond of protein, but I really cannot afford any setbacks. It’s just something good to have around. I could see you liking it!

  1. I love this conditioner. It is one of my go to protein conditioners, I try to use it once a week. It leaves my hair so soft yet and a little stronger. The smell is heavenly!

    • The smell though!!!! Omg. Sometimes I think to myself “can I just taste a piece please!!!” The smell is enough to keep me running back but its still a good conditioner.

  2. Pingback: What’s The Big Deal About Protein | Smooth Cuticles

Leave a Reply

