Was That A Wash Day?

It’s only been summer for barely a week, but its already not my biggest fan. Last summer, I had to be careful because my hair would dry out pretty quickly. I blamed the sun because duh, Mr. Golden Sun is shining down on me (yes, I took it back to Barney!). Keratin was my best friend last summer.

So it’s starting again. “But Mama, I don’t want to take a shower!” I normally wash on Sundays, but my hair was so dry feeling that I washed in Friday night.

I started with Elasta QP Shampoo for relaxed hair. This has SMS. Lately, it seems that as my hair gets stronger, it’s putting a huge S on his chest and taking all that crap for the other S-word (sulfates that is).

I deep conditionered with Silk Dreams Soothing Conditioner particularly because my scalp has been hot lately from 90 degree weather and the conditioner is pretty soothing. I used my heating cap and sat under it for an hour. Eventually I fell asleep. My hair still came out soft and detangled well.

20130629-221318.jpg

Clearly it detangled very well.

I followed up with Silk Dreams Wheat Germ Butter Conditioner (I’m gonna experiment with this a couple more times before I review it) then my Organix Ginger Awapuhi oil and went to bed.

This morning, I just prayed my bun would look decent.

20130629-221521.jpg

I really liked this.

My hair dried well, its combing well, its holding moisture well, its breaking well considering in 12 weeks post, and its acting like its gotten its life together. I like the bigness particularly because I dont care for my hair in its air dried state. I’m so lazy!!!! And my air dried hair takes more time for me during the week.

While hanging with my bro and some friends I snuck a picture while I was in the car:

20130629-222055.jpg

Can you dig it?

I plan to really TRY to air dry for the next 2-4 weeks. I know I’ll break; not being pessimistic but I know Tasia, and she has no patience. Summer is making my hair drier faster so I might pick up mid week conditioning again. It really does help. Washing went from every 7 days to probably every 4-5 days.

I’m not complaining; clean hair every few days!!!

How is summer treating you?

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

6 thoughts on “Was That A Wash Day?

  1. Bun and airdried hair looks amazing! It looks so soft and fluffy. Glad that your stretch is going well. The sun AND humidity in Atlanta ain’t playin. The frequent cowashes (every 3-4 days) definitely helps to keep my hair moisturized. I wish I had grabbed some of the soothing conditioner to try it.

    • Well the humidity from spring helped but its gone now so its like winters reversal. It will be frequent washing for both of us. The dryness isn’t bad but I have to stay on top of it.

Leave a Reply

