Product Review: Elasta QP Creme Conditioning Shampoo

21Y-MSMvbSL

 

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Disodium Cocoamphodipropionate, Cocamide MEA, Polyquaternium-10, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Biotin (Vitamin H), Linoleic Acid (Vitamin F), Persia Gratissima (Avocado) Oil [contains Vitamins B2, D, A, E, K, and Potassium], Citric Acid, Ethylene Glycol Distearate, Parfum (Fragrance), DMDM Hydantoin, Imidazolidinyl Urea, CI 19140 (FD&C Yellow 5)

Promises: Vitamin-rich, Creme Conditioning Shampoo is an ultra-rich, ultra-concentrated, gentle cleansing formula that gives maximum moisture to dry, fragile, damaged hair.  Detangles as it cleanses while restoring soft, silky-smooth hair texture. Non-stripping to dry, brittle or chemically treated hair.

Here is my assessment:

-It does gently cleanse and moisturize

-I can actually section my hair (if it isn’t already) after using this shampoo

-It does not make my tea rinse too hard. Sometimes with tea rinses, they can make your hair hard, but with this shampoo, it still remains somewhat soft

-You do not need a lot and it lathers really well

-Has a pleasant smell

-Has linoleic acid, an omega-6 I believe

-Has penetrating oils of avocado, coconut and olive (yum)

The Nitty Gritty: Ok, I will admit I do like this shampoo. Im still in the air with it as it disappoints me sometimes. I have had a hard time finding shampoo on my journey, and its not getting any easier. This is one of the few shampoos I CANNOT say makes my hair feel stripped, hard, or like its suffering from a stroke.

The real problem is that I have low porosity hair, which by all means is a gift and a curse. My cuticles are shut tighter than a vault. Now, while LP hair keeps things in, it also has a hard time getting things out and that is where the problem begins with this shampoo. This shampoo is extremely hydrating. When I wash, I can literally feel my cuticles “somewhat” open by the rough texture, but once I rinse, that is all gone and its back to smooth cuticles. Once again, this shampoo has penetrating oils, so once they are in, they are not getting out. My hair is moisturized from the minute I used this shampoo. Once I proceed with wash day, its pretty smooth sailing IF I roller set. Roller setting allows me to use a heat protectant which contains protein that will offset the moisture. If I use this shampoo with air dried hair, its residue-doo city. Seriously.

I would be extremely cautious in recommending it to a LP head. If you use indirect or direct heat, this stuff save lives. If you do not use heat, I’d say this shampoo is pretty good after clarifying and maybe one wash day after, depending on the person. For someone with NP, this stuff would be a keeper. I am still going to keep this in my stash as I cannot think of a reason to hate it as it doesn’t fail me, it just disappoints me if I do not use it correctly. I actually have gotten my best roller sets with it! Air dried hair on the other hand… Yeah, I will review another shampoo for that…

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia S.

3 thoughts on “Product Review: Elasta QP Creme Conditioning Shampoo

  1. I get the same inconsistent results with this shampoo. The only way that I can get good results is if I prepoo with an oil first. Still on the lookout for something amazing though. I am beginning to wonder if I will ever find one! Great review!

Leave a Reply

