Wash Day

20130528-230421.jpg

This wash day, I had to determine how best to successfully manage a twist out without buildup from the previous week. Because I had been using the Silk Dreams Wheat Germ Butter Conditioner and the Organix macadamia or awapuhi ginger oil, I figured I could successfully avoid a prepoo.

I sectioned my hair in 4 quadrants and washed in sections with Paul Mitchell Shampoo One. I normally avoid sulphate shampoos unless necessary, however between this wash day and my last, I had:
-Sealed my ends for 3 days with oil on straight hair
-Conditioned with steam
-Moisturized and Sealed for 3 days on air dried hair
-and had serious buildup by Monday that felt so disgusting I didn’t even want to go outside
A sulphate free shampoo would not do and to clarify was not an option. The Paul Mitchell worked well as it cleaned my hair but didn’t strip it.

Next I did a tea rinse with black, green, horsetail, chamomile and burdock teas. Yum.

Then I applied my Biolage Hydratherapie Cera-Repair and Silk Dreams Vanilla Silk and sat under a heating cap for 30 minutes. I let it cool for 10 minutes, then rinsed.

Last I final rinsed with Roux PC.

I tshirt dried (if you haven’t tried it you should) and put some Sill Dreams Wheat Germ Butter and Organix Awapuhi Ginger and did a twist out. After doing this on clean, air dried hair, it came out fluffier and bouncy and the softness is nothing I have ever experienced. Even my NG is a dream even after almost 8 weeks. I hope this stretch goes well. When I emailed the Owner of Silk Dreams, she told me the Wheat Germ Butter is a good conditioner for stretching. So far this is is proving true, but I will give it time.

I’m almost 8 weeks post and hoping to make it another 8 weeks, but I won’t get mad if I break in 4 weeks. However, I am soon learning that stretching is all in the products you use as well as technique.

20130529-200628.jpg

20130529-200754.jpg

20130529-200702.jpg

20130529-200816.jpg

That’s what I’m working with. Everything came out perfect.

Probably going to invest in a tangle tweezers thanks to Adrienne so I can get rid of more shed hairs on wash days.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

7 thoughts on “Wash Day

  1. I’ve been considering using the conditioner range from Silk Dreams but wasn’t too sure about it. You’re the second hair blogger who’s given positive reviews for this range. If Wheat Germ Butter conditioner is good for stretching, then I’d better get my hands on it as I’m on a 24 week stretch. You should do a review soon.

  2. Girl your hair came out to shiny and soft-looking. I am *trying desperately* to wait on a SD sale to grab the wheat germ conditioner. I need all the help I can get right about now! I really have to get back on my tea rinse grind. That tangle teezer…girl, GET one soon!!

    • I’d say still wait for it if you can. I definitely like the SD Conditioner, but I’m still testing it out so I can’t say purchase it just yet. I can say I am noticing a difference in behavior with my hair since using it.

      Oh and that tangle teezer…. In the mail!!! I ain’t playing!!!! Lol

  3. Beautiful hair. I just recently came across your blog. You’re my hair idol! I readed your reveiw on the biolage hydratherapie cera-repair Can you post ingredients because they arent any where on line. Thanks

Leave a Reply

