Wash Day

I tried as many photos of what I’m using and how this wash day.

20130415-125655.jpg

I first determined which combs I would use in what order. I had pre-pooed tr night before with Apricot Oil and knew I had to clarify so I didn’t put my hair in sections to wash. It would have been too much work. I took my fine tooth comb and wide tooth comb to the shower because it was easier that way.

20130415-125845.jpg
So I started with Bobeum Products cocoa and rhassoul shampoo bar. It didn’t really lather much for me which I was fine with. I just used this bar solely as a first wash to clarify. It was not to bad and I felt it left my hair soft rather than “clean”. I followed that with Millcreek Organics Keratin Shampoo. This has SMS, so I used it to further clarify my hair as well is feed it a bit. This actually softened my hair which surprised me as with the keratin, I figured maybe hard? Ehh…

Followed with a tea rinse with black, burdock, chamomile and horsetail. I made this rinse the day before and now remember why I stopped making them the day before. When I make the the day before, they cool at room temperature. When I pour the rinse, it’s too cold and causes me to shed more than usual. It also causes more breakage. I’m just going to go back to making my rinse 1-3 hours before. Something else interesting my fiancé taught me from his time at Starbucks. Their coffee is brewed so often and disposed of even when not fully empty because after a while when it sits it taste different. I don’t know if the same can be said for tea, but it is possible caffeine is more potent the the few hours of then after. Just speculation. I’ve played with this method before and see that making my rinse the same day works for me.

After, I applied my Millcreek Organics Keratin Shampoo for ~5 minutes for deeper conditioning like the instructions state then rinsed. Pretty smooth sailing. I sectioned my hair BEFORE DC-ing simply so it would be easier since its easier to manage wet hair with conditioner versus wet hair alone.

20130415-150227.jpg

I was worried that if I applied my SIlk Dreams VSCMD that it might be too much protein but it really was not. I used this under my heating cap (mostly out of laziness) because I think this product works better under heat versus steam. This conditioner provides me ok to good slip to detangle, more so when just applied versus after it has set. I did a final rinse with Roux PC.

20130415-152406.jpg

20130415-152427.jpg

This is me, done. I was happy with the results. I figured I needed the protein because I just relaxed and also because I had to moisturize more between wash days. I forgot to use ceramides which attributed to some breakage. That will never happen again. I’m writing this post after the second day and its really soft and not allowing the pins to hold my bun. That’s a good thing. I hope I can keep this health up.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S

6 thoughts on “Wash Day

  1. I tried a bobeam shampoo bar and I know exactly what you mean by your results. My hair felt kinda soft but I could definitely tell that it wasn’t clean. That maybe ok for some folks, but not my hair. When it needs to be shampooed, it needs to get clean or I get buildup. I agree about the SD. I get better results when using it with heat. Great wash day results!

    • I was talking to a friend of mine at work (natural) and she was asking me about it because I bought her one. I told her I liked it because it wasnt stripping, but for clarifying, I would prefer something a little more stripping to avoid possible build-up because I do get that quickly. I will still use it, but to be honest, I like it more on my skin than my hair. I find her Coco Olive much better on hair though because it can either moisturize or clarify and I find that it does both for me. The cocoa is supposed to be a clarifier and I felt it didnt do that for me.

      • Maybe I will try that one. I tried the Cheris Hibiscus Moisturizing Shampoo Bar. The first time I used it, it made my hair somewhat soft. The next time, I used it and rubbed it on my hair. My hair had this weird, greasy film on it. I don’t know if I used it wrong or what, but I had to clarify that greasiness out. Have you used it on the length of your hair or do you just lather it on your scalp and allow the suds to wash the rest of your hair? I stopped using it and like you, started using it as a face cleanser. My skin loved it. I don’t wanna give up on shampoo bars though, as I think the concept is a good one.

      • I put it on my scalp and length. On my scalp it didn’t lather too much and on the length not at all. I felt I needed to clarify in less time than usual while using it. I usually wait 4-5 weeks but using the bars, it was more like 3-4 weeks. The bars also left my scalp feeling “soothe” so I won’t give up on it but I can’t use something for just my scalp.

Leave a Reply

