Washing in Sections

So, I used to be one of those people who thought sectioning my hair on wash days just was not for.

A few years back, I did a naturals hair and realized quickly after watching her that washing in sections is beneficial to naturals. Then, once my hair reached BSL, I figured “Ok, I will do this when I hit MBL or WL, because BSL is not really long…” Last, I saw that Jen from Just Grow Already, had started washing in sections, but her hair is super long, so I figured when my hair was longer, I’d start washing in sections. Another reason for hesitance was because I didnt understand how it could be done.

So for the past year I have been struggling with detangling and washing when washing in sections could have solved all my problems. Now I never started washing in sections, just DC-ing. I was washing over the sink one day (yeah, I know) but when it came to applying condish, I said “I am not doing this upside down!”, so I parted everything in sections and applied in conditioner in sections. Previously, I sectioned the hair while applying condish and this still led to a pineapple versus now sectioning the entire head. I had originally did this because I just wanted to ensure better detangling and better coating of condish. This led me to washing and conditioning in sections that I rollerset in.

Here are some Pros and Cons to this method:

Pros

  • better detangling
  • better attention to all areas
  • less damaging
  • assurance that all areas are getting proper attention and not just the crown and forehead and nap
  • reduces doubt that hair is not fully coated
  • for rollersetters like me, less time during rollersetting
  • can be done after APL, only because shorter hair is easier to manage
  • good for bone straight and texlaxers alike

Cons

  • time consuming
  • may use more product because of more attention
  • can cause tangles in the trial phases

I slept on this method, hopefully no one else will. Back to my wash day

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia S.

8 thoughts on “Washing in Sections

  1. I was mad it took me so long to try this method. I started it about a year and a half ago and it makes a world of difference, especially for strechers and/or transitioners. You are right, it takes a lot more product, but I feel better about knowing that each strand is getting product. I no longer have issues with uneven hydration which can cause breakage. Great post!

  2. Great post once again! I know I should wash in sections but I find the extra step cumbersome, but I will have to try again. The pros seem worth it. What do you use to keep your sections in place?

    • It is very cumbersome, but I’ve seen a reduction in breakage and increase in moisture since doing this. It also make rollersetting quicker for me 🙂

  3. my hair is only shoulder lenght but i do everything in sections since the beginning of my hj.
    for me its much easier to shampoo that way than to wash all once – i notice less tangles and i can concentrate more on the scalp of each section.

    • Hey Bebe,
      I’m glad you started early. I started my journey at APL and thats when I needed it most. I’m just catching on and I feel like I should have caught on when I first started hearing about it. I started sectioning a while back with m&s but wish I would have did more. But that’s the point of a journey right lol.

  4. I wash my hair in sections and as much as it’s beneficial to me I hate how time consuming it is. I always manage to use all the hot water while taking a shower because I spend the majority of the time washing my hair. lol

    • Lucky I live in a building so I can’t use all the hot water. But the time put into it is alot. In the end, it makes life so much easier, but I can see wash days being dreaded in the future.

  5. The time it takes to put my hair in sections and wash it that way, more than pays for itself with the fact that I don’t have to deal with the tangles anymore. It will soon become automatic and you won’t even think about it anymore.

Leave a Reply

