Wash Day

So I messed up my wash day, but sometimes you need to make a mistake in order to try something new.

I prepooed last night with sunflower oil. I really like sunflower oil.

Before I washed, I remembered that last week, my wash day was horrible simply because I didn’t rollerset in sections. So this week, I sectioned my hair in 5 pieces. There were 2 large section in the back half and 3 small sections (Mohawk area and the sides) in the front. I put these pieces in ponytails and that was how I washed.

I washed with Curls Creamy Curl Cleanser. I really like this. It cleans but doesn’t sud much. My hair didn’t feel dry or crispy after. Omg, is this a winner?

20130310-101537.jpg

After, I applied Silk Dreams Mocha Silk Infusion. Omg, it like allowing your hair to enjoy its own mocha latte. It was really like smooth butter, melted well and smelled great. I basically took each section out of the ponytail and applied conditioner. Sat under my heat cap. It rinses clean and left my hair smooth.

Rinsed, then applied Darcy’s Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Conditioner and Biolage Cera-Repair and sat under my steamer. I let it cool afterwards by cleaning my tub before jumping in the shower. I forgot to tea rinse which I realized under my steamer, so I rinsed the conditioner out a little, then did the tea rinse, then rinsed completely. My rinse contained Green Tea, Moringa Tea, Chamomile, Horsetail and Nettle. I think I will be doing this more often.

Then I rinsed out each ponytail section and detangled with Curls Coconut Curlada Conditioner mix with Roux Porosity Control. I used my Hercules Sagemann Magic Star wide tooth comb and it detangled very well. Then loosely twisted each section and pinned it up. Rinse.

20130310-101621.jpg

So when I went to rollerset, I used Avanti Silicon Mix leave in. I like the ingredients, better than their DC. I also kept a spray bottle handy to re-wet each section. I also invested in all 3 combs of the Hercules Sagemann 3-step combing process. I hate small tooth combs with a passion, mostly due to my days at the salon. However, when I detangled, not much came out and when I rollerset, all the hairs that’s came out with the small tooth comb scared me (it wasn’t that much but still) but they weren’t broken. Lets just say, smoothing with a small tooth comb is important with rollersetting and I’m glad I invested. I roller set in all the sections and detangling was very easy.

20130310-101702.jpg

20130310-101743.jpg

After I removed the rollers, I finger combed than wide tooth combed the curls. Few strands came out, so the smoothing process was worth it. My hair came out smooth like I’ve been dreaming of for over a year now. Like super smooth, bone straight smooth. My curls bounced very well but next time I will use less leave-in then I did this time. Last just added some oil to the ends.

20130310-101845.jpg

I will follow this process. For now though, I am extremely happy with the Curls brand and for now will make it a staple. I will keep my Giovanni Smooth As Silk if I feel I need something harder. I will keep this wash day routine for a while and see how I like this.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

5 thoughts on “Wash Day

  1. Hi, noticed you conditioned, three times. What are your reasons for doing this & which Hercules saagman combs do you have and which do you prefer, I would like to purchase but I am overwhelmed by the amount of combs they offer.

    • Hi Mandy,

      I noticed I did DC 3x too. It’s mostly because a) I prepooed because my hair started drying and b) I used the mocha silk which can be a light to medium treatment depending on the person and the instructions state to use a moisture based DC or leave in after.

      I will do a review on the combs when I I get a chance so I can explain. Thanks!

  2. I hope you do a review on the Darcy’s Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Conditioner. I have been wanting to try it (and other products from the line) for a while. Although it isn’t marketed as a DC, a lot of people use it as one and as a leave in. Have you tried it as a leave in?

Leave a Reply

