Saying no to Parabens

20130223-202045.jpg

Now some of us have heard of the controversy with Parabens. While we know Parabens are used in products as preservatives and lengthen shelf life, much press is being given to Parabens being linked to cancers.

The truth mostly is that there are chemicals that are produced by cancer cells that look similar and may be exactly the same as Parabens. Now using an item with Parabens does not mean it will penetrate the skin and cause cancer everywhere. There is no guarantee. But using them doesn’t mean it will happen. Just like smoking cigarettes won’t guarantee anything.

Now I’m choosing to give up Parabens mostly because of its use as a preservative. If a product that has items that normally have a shelf life of 1 year can survive 6-7 just because of a Paraben, I don’t think I want to use it. Back when I was in college, I worked a retail job (typical college student) and saw first hand how items can sit on a shelf for a year or more before selling and worse, before they are put in a dollar bin before someone decides to buy it. Makes me wonder how long my face cleanser sat on the shelf before I bought it. This can also allow companies to produce less and still charge more.

I will slowly begin my transition of using up my products that I choose and for other products that I can make on my own, I will convert those. Scurl has Parabens so I will just make myself a spray bottle with water and fragrance with some green tea extract. My face cleanser has Parabens so I have already looked into a replacement after I am done with it. For the most part, very few of my products have Parabens, so the transition won’t be hard or strenuous. But I feel it has to happen for my own personal preference. After all, who said my journey had to only be about hair!

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

4 thoughts on “Saying no to Parabens

  1. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

Leave a Reply

