Darcy’s Botanicals Lemongrass Transitioning Cream Versus Sweet Cocoa Bean Whip

photo 1-3

As I started becoming less bone straight, I realized heavy water based leave-in’s were not moisturizing my hair as much as they used to. So I needed something a little thicker, still water based, but with less water. So as a fan of Just Grow Already, I decided to go with the Lemongrass Transitioning Cream. I really liked it as it provided superior detangling and my hair remained moist throughout the week with daily use 2x a day. This started my trying out the Pumpkin Seed conditioner and I decided to get the Sweet Cocoa Bean Whip because it was advertised as being able to be used as a DC too. Here are my opinions of each:

Lemongrass Transitioning Cream

-Main ingredients are water, aloe vera and coconut oil.

-Softens the hair and with rollersetting, provides moisture for up to 2 days.

-Light enough for daily use

-Great for thin to medium strands

-Will not affect Moisture/Protein Balance

-Ideal for unextreme climates. I did not like with weather below 45 degree F

-Non-greasy and melts into hair

-I would recommend to all hair types. Great for bone straight and those transitioning to texlax.

-Great for those with normal to high porosity hair. Low po’s do not fret, as it works well for me on air dried hair

Sweet Cocoa Bean Whip

-Main ingredients are water, cocoa butter, sweet almond oil, olive oil, palm oil and honey. These are all exceptional moisturizers

-Almond and olive oil penetrate the strand , honey is a humectant, palm oil provides nutrients for distressed hair and cocoa butter saves lives (not really). You will hardly ever meet a black person who will not swear by cocoa butter.

-Provides a sheen with rollersetting (and heat protectant of course) and leaves the hair moisturized for at least 2-3 days

-I can only testify to this being a really great moisturizer. I would not use this as a DC

-Can be used when a light protein is used and is recommended to use a moisturizing leave-in afterwards

-I’d consider this to be on the medium to heavy side, compared to pomades and butters being much heavier

-Daily use depending on hair type

-Can be used by those with thin strands with caution as this moisturizer is very rich and thick. MAY weigh down strands

-Ideal for those with medium to thick strands for daily use. I use this product daily after the second day of my rollerset

-Will not leave build-up

-Will affect moisture/protein balance on the moisture side a bit

-Great for adding moisture back in the hair, especially when combined with baggying. Especially useful for those like myself who use protein weekly, with little stretch after rollersets. I wash on Saturday and by Wednesday/Thursday of daily use, my strands do begin to stretch more. I have this system figured out and it works for me. I purposely use protein weekly to balance out moisture daily

-Great for those with low porosity hair #raiseshand

-Ideal for extreme climates and very cold weather. This is really helping me during New York Winters and our 20 degree F days

-Non-greasy, but overuse will result in sheen and possibly “weird” hair

-I would recommend to those with severely dry, damaged, thick and coarse hair. Texlaxers would benefit greatly, but use with caution.

Best of all: Neither contain GLYCERIN. Jump for joy

ETA April 20, 2013: I stopped using both products on rollersetting and started using the LTC on just air-dried hair. It works really well at smoothing the cuticles and helping to retain moisture between wash days. Remember this product has aloe, so it will affect your strands in terms of moisture.

One Day, It Will Happen

Tasia S.

5 thoughts on “Darcy’s Botanicals Lemongrass Transitioning Cream Versus Sweet Cocoa Bean Whip

    • Hi Mandy,

      I’ve never used it as a sealant because it is a really good moisturizer. It isn’t heavy enough or oily enough for me to use it as a sealant, however, it is thick enough to not have to use a sealant if I don’t wish too. I really like this item and it will more than likely become my only moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

