Wash Day- The Re-Up

20130203-155356.jpg

My wash day was so bad yesterday that I had to come back in full effect. The dryness, breakage and shedding was too much. And even leaving in conditioner and doing GHE was not enough.

First I washed twice with Giovanni Smooth as Silk. I decided not to follow up with the conditioner because it has protein pretty high on the list and though its only soy protein (my hair loves this stuff) I already had a problem with build-up from my rinse. I just wanted moisture at this point. During my wash, there was still left over rinse; that was the culprit.

Next, because shampoo is shampoo, I softened with some Ojon Dry Recovery and Roux PC. This worked. Since I broke a cardinal hair care rule of washing hair over the sink, I decided to soften before I put in my DC.

Now here is the busy bee thinking to much part. So I debated with my friend whether I should roller set again or not. Her defense was that I should air dry to prevent further damage. My defense was that air dried hair is harder for me to maintain as I have to do more to style it like use scrunchies, more pins, the brush and more combing and leave-in during the week versus roller sets which only require unwrapping, bun, and re-rapping my hair. So I said to myself if the DC goes right, ill take it from there.

So when I got to the bathroom, the Ojon and Roux softened my hair up enough that I could make 4 sections neatly and in each section I applied DC then put them in braids. I left it in for 2 hours with a plastic cap and then a satin hat with no heat. This process alone causes the head to heat up so you do not need heat. I used Darcy’s Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Conditioner. This stuff is a life saver.

When I rinsed the condish out, I rinsed in sections. So I started with one braid, rinsed, untangled the braid, put some Roux, detangled, rinsed and put that section away. Repeat on all sections. When I was done, I went back to the bathroom and roller set my hair in sections. I used Darcy’s Botanicals Sweet Cocoa Bean and Crece Pelo heat protectant and kept a spray bottle of water just in case. Combing was truly a breeze and no rips, tears (both kinds) and minimal shedding. 50 minutes later, I was a very happy person.

Finger combed then combed the curls and put in a doobie. Today, less was truly more.

I constantly remind myself->
One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

One thought on “Wash Day- The Re-Up

  1. Pingback: Wash Day | Smooth Cuticles

Leave a Reply

