Wash Day

1. Prepooed overnight with my oil mix. Also placed green tea on my scalp.
2. Washed with Giovanni Smooth As Silk one lather.
3. Green tea and Horsetail rinse for about 1 minute.
4. Conditioned with Giovanni Smooth As Silk conditioner.
5. DCed with Silk Dream Vanilla Silk Dream.
6. Final rinse with Biolage cera repair and Roux PC to close my cuticles and put some ceramides back in there.
7. Used the t-shirt method to dry my hair. Left it on for about 45 minutes. I was sacred leaving cotton on my head after past experiences, but it worked out. After this, it took less than 30 minutes for my hair to dry about 90%.
8. Applied Darcy’s lemongrass to parted sections going from the nape to forehead and detangling at the same time.
9. Applied Aveda Light Elements to my ends and length of hair. This stuff is light, but has what I call “heavy” oils; oils that are rich in ceramides and sit on the hair strand instead of penetrating.

By this time my roots were still a little damp, but by looking at the pictures, one could swear there were dry. My hair didn’t come out puffy or [that] big. Smooth city though. Very smooth cuticles might I add. At 9 weeks post, my edges are still lying flat and I don’t have buck shots (though I never really thought I had them in the first place). I pulled my hair in a ponytail without a comb or brush and made the most effortless bun that I don’t even get when my hair is rollerset.

My goal until my relaxer in 3 weeks (countdown) is to airdry and get a little thickness while giving my hair a break from rollersetting. The only thing I didny like was the amount of shedding I endured during gentle detangling. However, since I DCed under my heating cap and laid down with it on, and all my excess shedding was from the back of my hair which was the part impacted by the most heat, I think that was the culprit. I also don’t think winter agrees with my hair because I don’t get this much shedding during warmer months. When I steam, I don’t get much shedding. Guess ill just be spraying green tea to my scalp nightly.

One Day, It Will Happen
Tasia S.

Leave a Reply

